8 Famous Indian Sportspersons Who Became Politicians

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore has secured seven international gold medals in his shooting career. After taking voluntary retirement from the army, Rathore joined the BJP.

Dilip Tirkey

The ruling Biju Janata Dal in 2012 nominated Tirkey as their choice for RS MP. In 2012 he became a Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from Odisha representing BJD.

Prasun Banerjee

Banerjee becomes the first Indian professional footballer to be a Member of Parliament on a TMC ticket.

Mohammad Azharuddin

He is one of the most successful captains of the Indian national cricket side. Azhar joined Congress (2009) and became a member of the parliament by winning from Moradabad.

Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir joined the BJP in March 2019. The former opening batsman played a major role in India’s victory in the 2011 World Cup.

Nafisa Ali

The two-time national swimming champion had switched from a sportsperson to an actor to politician.

Krishna Poonia

Three-times Olympic participant, Krishna Poonia, a discus thrower joined the Congress in 2013. She lost elections against Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore from the Sadulpur constituency in Rajasthan.

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Sidhu joined politics in 2004. He has been successful in the political arena as well, having won the Lok Sabha elections twice.