Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Rahul Gandhi, Smriti Irani, Chirag Paswan Among Key Candidates In Fray

Lok Sabha 2024 Phase 5 Polling: On 20 May, 49 seats across eight states and Union Territories will be up for grabs, with 695 candidates in fray. The states\UTs involved in the fifth phase are Bihar (5 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (3), Ladakh (1), Maharashtra (13), Odisha (5), Uttar Pradesh (14), and West Bengal (7). The Elections will begin at 7am in the morning till 5pm with one hour extension for everyone to exercise their right to vote. Here are some key candidates testing their mettle in the electoral battlefield: 

Omar Abdullah

Omar Abdullah

The race in North Kashmir's Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency has intensified with the entry of jailed independent candidate Engineer Rashid. The main contenders are former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister and National Conference leader Omar Abdullah, Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference chief Sajjad Gani Lone, and Fayaz Ahmad Mir of the Jammu and Kashmir Peoples' Democratic Party. Voting in Baramulla is scheduled for the fifth phase on May 20. 

Rohini Acharya

Saran: Rohini Acharya (RJD) vs Rajiv Pratap Rudy (BJP)

Rohini Acharya, daughter of RJD Supremo Lalu Prasad is contesting the election from Saran Lok Sabha seat on the RJD party's ticket. On the other hand, Bhartiya Janta Party has fielded Rajiv Pratap Rudy. Rudy is the sitting MP from the Saran Lok Sabha constituency. 

Chirag Paswan

Hajipur: Chirag Paswan (LJP) vs Shiv Chandra Ram (RJD)

In Bihar's Hajipur, Chirag Paswan has been nominated by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) through its ally, the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), while the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has fielded Shiv Chandra Ram. 

Piyush Goyal

Mumbai North: Piyush Goyal (BJP) vs Bhushan Patil (Congress)

Bhartiya Janta Party has fielded Piyush Goyal from the Mumbai North Lok Sabha seat. The constituency is spread from Goregaon to Andheri. Against Goyal is Bhushan Patil from Congress party. In the Lok Sabha 2019 elections, Manoj Kotak won the seat for BJP. 

Rajnath Singh

Lucknow: Rajnath Singh (BJP) vs Ravidas Mehrotra (SP)

Lucknow is one of the 80 Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh, Bhartiya Janta Party has pitched Rajnath Singh against Samajwadi Party’s Ravidas Mehrotra. Rajnath Singh won the seat in 2019 and is the sitting MP, he also emerged victorious in 2014. 

Smriti Irani

Amethi: Kishori Lal Sharma (Congress) vs Smriti Irani (BJP)

The Amethi Lok Sabha seat is set to witness a triangular battle between the BJP, Congress and BSP. The Bhartiya Janta Party has its incumbent MP, Smriti Irani representing the party while Congress has named Kishori Lal Sharma, a prominent member of party since 1983. Bahujan Samajwadi Party has nominated Nanhe Singh Chauhan from Amethi. 

Rahul Gandhi

Raebareli: Rahul Gandhi (Congress) vs Dinesh Pratap Singh (BJP)

In the Raebareli Lok Sabha Constituency, Congress’ Rahul Gandhi is in fray for the phase fifth of the polling. BJP Candidate from the seat is Dinesh Pratap Singh. The Bahujan Samaj Party has fielded Thakur Prasad from the Raebareli constituency. The seat is said to be a stronghold of Congress and is descended to Rahul from her mother Sonia Gandhi, who is the sitting MP from the seat.