Indian Premier League 2020, Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians: In Pics

Zee Media Bureau | Sep 20, 2020, 00:14 AM IST

CSK opt to bowl first against Mumbai Indians

Three-time winners Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the toss and opted to bowl first against defending champions Mumbai Indians in the opening match of 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Sunday.

The curtain raiser of the 13th season of lucrative T20 tournament will be a repeat of last year's final when Mumbai Indians locked horns with CSK in the summit showdown at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad and clinched a narrow one-run win.(Image Credits: Twitter grab)



Chennai Super Kings - Playing XI

Veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who played his last match during India's dismal loss to New Zealand in the semi-final clash of the ICC World Cup 2019, has returned to action to lead Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the IPL 2020.

The Chennai-based franchise went into their opening tie of this year's IPL against Mumbai Indians with four overseas players namely Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran and Lungi Ngidi. (Image Courtesy: Twitter/@IPL)


Mumbai Indians- Playing XI

Mumbai Indians headed into their opening IPL 2020 clash against Chennai Super Kings with four overseas players namely Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, James Pattinson and Trent Boult. Skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock opened the innings for the Mumbai-based franchise. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


A look at IPL 2020 format

The eight franchises are slated to play a total of 56 league matches in 13th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Each team will face each other twice in the league stage before the top four teams will qualify for playoffs. 


Piyush Chawla gave breakthrough to CSK

Piyush Chawla gave the much-needed breakthough to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by removing Mumbai Indians skipper and opener Rohit Sharma for 12 runs. Sharma chipped the fourth ball of the fifth over from Chawla straight to Sam Curran at mid-off to leave Mumbai Indians to 46/1. (Image Credits:Twitter/@IPL)


Quinton de Kock fell for 33

Mumbai Indians opener Quinton de Kock departed after scoring quick-fire 33 off 30 deliveries. De Kock departed for 33 runs after being caught by Shane Watson at midwicket off Sam Curran's delivery in the fifth over. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Deepak Chahar removed Suryakumar Yadav

Deepak Chahar struck to remove Suryakumar Yadav for 17 runs in the 11th over. Yadav was taken at long-on by Sam Curran on the last ball of the 11th over by Chahar as Mumbai Indians were reduced to 92/3. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Lungi Ngidi celebrates after removing Kieron Pollard

Lungi Ngidi could be seen celebrating with his Chennai Super Kings (CSK) teammates after removing Mumbai Indians' Kieron Pollard for 18 runs.Ngidi finished the innings with figures of three for 38. He also dismissed James Pattinson and Hardik Pandya cheaply for 11 and three, respectively. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Trent Boult removed Shane Watson cheaply

Trent Boult celebrates with his Mumbai Indian teammates after removing Chennai Super Kings (CSK) opener Shane Watson cheaply for four runs in the very first over.(Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


James Pattinson dismissed Murali Vijay

Chennai Super Kings lost their second wicket inside two overs as opener Murali Vijay (1) was caught leg before wicket on the final delivery of second over from James Pattinson.(Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Ambati Rayudu smashed half-century

Chennai Super Kings' Ambati Rayudu hammered a half-century during his side's chase of 163 runs. He achieved the feat by picking up four runs on the fifth ball of 12th over from Jasprit Bumrah. (Image Courtesy: Twitter/@IPL)


CSK beat Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets

Faf du Plessis smashed an unbeaten knock of 58 runs besides stitching a crucial partnership of 115 runs with Ambati Rayudu (71) for the third wicket to help CSK chase down a target of 163 runs in 19.2 overs and clinch five-wicket win in the IPL 2020 opener. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)

Most Popular