Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab, Indian Premier League 2020 Match 13: In Pics

Zee Media Bureau | Oct 02, 2020, 00:37 AM IST

KXIP opt to bowl against MI

KL Rahul-led Kings XI Punjab won the toss and opted to bowl first against defending champions Mumbai Indians in Match 13 of the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

The two teams have faced each other in a total of 24 IPL matches, with Mumbai Indians emerging victorious on 13 occasions and KXIP winning 11 of them.

The Mumbai-based franchise also holds a better record than Kings XI Punjab as far as the last five meetings between the two sides are concerned. Rohit Sharma's side has won three of the last five clashes against the Punjab-based team.(Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Kings XI Punjab - Playing XI

The KL Rahul-led side has made one change in their Playing XI for their IPL 2020 tie against four-time champions Mumbai Indians. Krishnappa Gowtham has been roped in place of M Ashwin.Punjab have once again headed into the clash without their swashbuckling batsman Chris Gayle.

Kings XI Punjab have named Glenn Maxwell, Nicholas Pooran, James Neesham and Sheldon Cottrell as their four overseas players for the match.(Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Mumbai Indians- Playing XI

Mumbai Indians are going into the clash against Kings XI Punjab with an unchanged Playing XI in their IPL 2020 tie in Abu Dhabi.The four-time winners have headed into Match 13 of the lucrative T20 tournament with  Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, James Pattinson and Trent Boult as their four overseas players.


Mumbai Indians end Powerplay at 41/2

The players of the Kings XI Punjab celebrate after removing two wickets of the Mumbai Indians inside Powerplay. Opener Quinton de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav fell cheaply for duck and 10 as the Rohit Sharma-led sided ended the powerplay at 41 for two. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Sheldon Cottrell removes Quinton de Kock for duck

Kings XI Punjab's Sheldon Cottrell dons his traditional salute after removing Mumbai Indians opener Quinton de Kock for a duck. De Kock falls for a duck after being clean bowled by Cottrell on the fifth ball of the first over.(Image Credits: Twitter/@lionsdenkxip)


Suryakumar Yadav falls for 10

Mumbai Indians' Suryakumar Yadav falls cheaply for 10. Rohit Sharma (10) swept the fifth ball of the fourth over towards fine leg and looked to take a single, only to see Mohammad Shami collect the ball and catch Suryakumar Yadav short of his ground with a direct hit.(Image Credits: Twitter/@lionsdenkxip)


Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan stitch 62-run stand

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma (31) and Ishan Kishan (28) stitched a crucial partnership of 62 runs for the third wicket after losing opener Quinton de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav cheaply for a duck and 10 runs, respectively. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Rohit Sharma smashes fifty

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma (70) brought up a half century off 40 balls. The opener reached the mark with four runs by ramping the second ball of the 16th over from James Neesham fine of long leg.Rohit also completed 5,000 runs in IPL en route to his knock. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Rohit Sharma departs for 70

The Kings XI Punjab players celebrate after removing Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma for 70 runs. Sharma was caught by Jimmy Neesham at long-on on the first ball of the 17th over from Glenn Maxwell. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


MI set 192-run target for KXIP

Kieron Pollard (47*) and Hardik Pandya (30*) added 62 runs in the final three overs as Mumbai Indians post a score of 191 for four in their stipulated 20 overs against Kings XI Punjab. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Jasprit Bumrah dismisses Mayank Agarwal for 25

Jasprit Bumrah gave breakthrough to Mumbai Indians by removing Mayank Agarwal for 25.The Kings XI Punjab opener was bowled out by Bumrah on the fifth ball of the fifth over. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Kl Rahul departs cheaply for 17

Kings XI Punjab skipper KL Rahul departed cheaply for 17 runs after being caught by Rahul Chahar on the first ball of the ninth over. (Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


Nicholas Pooran falls short of fifty

Nicholas Pooran (44) fell short of a half-century after being caught by Quinton de Kock behind the stumps on the second ball of the 14th over from James Pattinson.(Image Credits: Twitter/@IPL)


MI beat KXIP by 48 runs

Jaspit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar and James Pattinson bagged two wickets, while Trent Boult and Krunal Pandya chipped in with a wicket each to help Mumbai Indians restrict Kings XI Punjab to a score of 143 for eight inside 20 overs and seal a 48-run win.

Most Popular