Photo Gallery: Voting for 70 seats in Delhi underway; voters defy all odds

Zee Media Bureau | Feb 08, 2020, 15:08 PM IST

Voting for the high-stakes Delhi assembly election is underway. The election campaign, which ended in the evening of February 6, saw all the three major parties, Aam Aadmi Party, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress aggressively campaigning promoting their candidates.


Over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls that will decide the fate of 672 candidates in 70 assembly constituencies which are seeing a triangular contest.


There are 81,05,236 male voters, 66,80,277 female voters and 869 third gender voters. They queued up to vote in the 13,570 polling booths across 2,689 areas in the national capital.


In the election, the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is making yet another attempt to return to power, while the Bharatiya Janata Party is determined to stage a comeback after 20 years. The Congress, which ruled Delhi for 15 years, is expecting a resurgence in its vote share.


The AAP is contesting on all the 70 seats, while the BJP has fielded its candidates on 67 seats and has left three seats for its allies - two for Janata Dal (United) and one for Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).


Congress is contesting on 66 seats and has given four seats to its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).


Al the five polling stations in Shaheen Bagh, the epicentre of anti-CAA protests, have been declared "critical" by Delhi`s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO).


The polling will end at 6 p.m. and the results will be announced on February 11.


At 6:30 pm today, various media outlets will publish the Delhi assembly election 2020 exit polls. 

Most Popular