delhi assembly election 2020

AAP MLA Saurabh Bhardwaj to organise recitation of Sunderkand on first Tuesday of every month

'Bajrang Bali-Hanuman' was a big issue in the recently concluded Delhi Assembly Election 2020, but the issue has once again been ignited by Aam Aadmi Party MLA Saurabh Bhardwaj, who on Tuesday (February 18) announced that Sunderkand (dedicated to valour Lord Hanuman in Ramcharit Manas) will be recited on the first Tuesday of every month in different areas of his constituency. 

Feb 18, 2020, 16:55 PM IST

Arvind Kejriwal invites PM Narendra Modi for oath-taking ceremony at Delhi's Ramlila Ground

Kejriwal, who spearheaded the party's landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly polls, will take oath as the Chief Minister for the third consecutive time in a grand public ceremony.

Feb 14, 2020, 14:09 PM IST

BJP is 'adamant' on citizenship law?

The BJP leadership believes that the reason for focusing on CAA was that its vote share improved by 6%. Party officials also said that CAA's popularity or otherwise was not an issue in Delhi because of Arvind Kejriwal, there is a tussle between the law and the opposition.

Feb 13, 2020, 11:14 AM IST

1 million people have joined party in 24 hours since Delhi Assembly election win, claims AAP

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Thursday (February 13) said that more than 10 lakh people have joined the party in 24 hours since the party's thumping victory in Delhi Assembly election 2020 on Tuesday (February 11).

Feb 13, 2020, 10:14 AM IST

Mamata Banerjee to attend Arvind Kejriwal’s swearing-in ceremony on February 16

Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday congratulated Arvind Kejriwal on his victory, saying "People have rejected BJP. Only development will work, CAA, NRC, and NPR will be rejected." 

Feb 12, 2020, 22:43 PM IST

Time for Arvind Kejriwal to include ‘Hanuman Chalisa’ in schools, madrasas in Delhi: Kailash Vijayvargiya

Vijayvargiya congratulated Kejriwal and suggested him to include ‘Hanuman Chalisa’ in all schools, madrasas and other educational institutions in Delhi.

Feb 12, 2020, 16:32 PM IST

PC Chacko resigns as Delhi Congress in-charge, blames late Sheila Dikshit for party's dismal show

PC Chacko on Wednesday (February 12) resigned as the Congress in-charge for Delhi after the party's dismal performance in Delhi Assembly election 2020.

Feb 12, 2020, 14:04 PM IST

BREAKING NEWS: Arvind Kejriwal elected leader of AAP legislative party, to take oath as Delhi CM on February 16

Kejriwal was on Wednesday (February 12, 2020 ) elected the leader of the legislative party by newly-elected party MLAs.

Feb 12, 2020, 13:13 PM IST

BREAKING NEWS: PM Modi-Shah's 'hawabazi' fell flat before Kejriwal: Shiv Sena on BJP's defeat in Delhi polls

The 'Saamana' article said that the AAP campaign was designed around the works done by it that helped the party register a landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly polls, while the BJP's "polarisation attempt" failed to click with voters of the national capital.

Feb 12, 2020, 13:02 PM IST

Congress leader Sharmistha Mukherjee lashes out at Chidambaram for lauding AAP's victory

Senior Delhi Congress leader Sharmistha Mukherjee on Wednesday (February 12) expressed unhappiness over former finance minister P Chidambaram's decision to laud Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for its stupendous victory in Delhi Assembly election.

Feb 12, 2020, 09:31 AM IST

AAP MLAs to meet at Kejriwal's residence today to choose Legislature Party leader

Sources told Zee Media that AAP convenor Arvind Kejriwal was considering two dates - February 14 and 16 - to take oath as the chief minister of Delhi for the third time. 

Feb 12, 2020, 07:09 AM IST

Aam Aadmi Party's 8 of 9 women candidates register wins in Delhi Assembly election 2020

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) registered a superlative victory in the Delhi Assembly election 2020 on Tuesday (February 11) and eight of the nine women candidates fielded by the Arvind Kejriwal-led party won their seats. The winners from AAP included Atishi, Dhanwati Chandela, Raj Kumari Dhillon, Bandana Kumari, Preeti Tomar, Bhavna Gaur, Pramila Tokas and  Rakhi Birla. The only woman candidate from AAP who lost the election was Sarita Singh.

Feb 11, 2020, 22:16 PM IST

Delhi election result 2020: AAP wins 9 seats of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency; BJP gets Badarpur

South Delhi Lok Sabha seat has 10 Assembly constituencies - Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli, Ambedkar Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad, and Badarpur. Of these assembly seats, AAP managed to win 9, while BJP got the victory in merely one seat of Badarpur.   

Feb 11, 2020, 22:03 PM IST

Delhi election result 2020: AAP wins Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri Nagar, Wazirpur, Model Town, Sadar Bazar, Chandni Chowk, Matia Mahal, Ballimaran seats of Chandini Chowk Lok Sabha constituency

In Chandini Chowk Lok Sabha constituency, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) managed to win all the Assembly seats including Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri Nagar, Wazirpur, Model Town, Sadar Bazar, Chandni Chowk, Matia Mahal, and Ballimaran.

Feb 11, 2020, 21:57 PM IST

Delhi election result 2020: AAP wins New Delhi, Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Delhi Cantonment, Rajinder Nagar, Kasturba Nagar, Malviya Nagar, RK Puram, Greater Kailash

All the 10 Assembly seats under the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency voted in favour of the ruling Aam Aadmi Party. 

Feb 11, 2020, 20:00 PM IST

Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP sweeps BJP aside in Delhi assembly election, retains power; Congress ends with zero

AAP sweep left the main rival BJP way behind while the Congress for the second time in a row failed to open its account in the bitterly-fought contest.

Feb 11, 2020, 19:47 PM IST

Delhi citizens gave me the best birthday gift ever: Arvind Kejriwal's wife Sunita on AAP's massive win

A former IPS officer, Sunita was speaking at AAP's ITO office when she said that the election campaigning saw several ups and down but the party members had complete faith in their work.

Feb 11, 2020, 19:40 PM IST

Kejriwal's wife got special Birthday Gift today

Arvind Kejriwal's Wife Sunita thanked Delhi for best birthday Gift. Sunita said, I think Delhi has voted for truth and i am very happy.

Feb 11, 2020, 18:08 PM IST

Delhi voted after careful thought; BJP's winning percentage increased compared to 2015: Manoj Tiwari

Addressing a press conference, the BJP Delhi chief, however, asserted that compared to the Delhi Assembly Election 2015, the winning percentage of the BJP has increased in the Delhi Assembly Election 2015.

Feb 11, 2020, 17:27 PM IST

Bharat Mata Ki Jai, Inquilab Zindabad, Dilli walon gazab kar dia aap ne, says AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal

After winning from the New Delhi constituency, Kejriwal greeted party workers at the party headquarters in Delhi chanting 'Bharat Mata ki Jai, Inquilab Zindabad'. 

Feb 11, 2020, 16:17 PM IST