In maps: How political parties fared in Lok Sabha election 2019 across states

Zee Media Bureau | May 25, 2019, 11:53 AM IST

Narendra Modi wins big

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday led his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) towards a super-sized victory for a second term in office. The BJP bagged 303 seats while the NDA has won in 354 of the 542 constituencies in which voting was held. The UPA won 90 seats of which Congress won 52 stories while DMK won 23 seats.


BJP wins 62 seats in UP

In the politically critical state of Uttar Pradesh, BJP won 62 seats while its ally Apna Dal won 2 seats taking NDA's tally to 64. Despite the alliance, Samajwadi Party won 5 seats while Bahujan Samaj Party won 10. Although the BJP had won 71 seats in the last elections, the performance is much better than what many exit polls had forecast. 


TMC wins 22 seats in Lok Sabha

Mamata Banerjee's TMC was locked in a neck-and-neck fight with the BJP for the 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal. The state's ruling party won 22 Lok Sabha seats while the saffron outfit won 18. Two seats were won by Congress.


BJP wins 24 Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan

After the 2018 loss in the Assembly election, the BJP won big in 25 Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan. The BJP won 24 seats while the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party bagged one seat.



NDA nearly sweeps Bihar

NDA nearly swept Bihar with Bharatiya Janata Party winning 17 seats, Janata Dal (United) winning 16 seats while Lok Jan Shakti Party won 6 seats. Of the 40 seats in Bihar, the Congress bagged just one seat.


Congress-led UDF wins 19 seats in Kerala

The Congress-led UDF won 19 of Kerala's 20 seats, including Wayanad from where Congress President Rahul Gandhi also contested. The ruling CPI-M-led LDF bagged just one seat while BJP again drew a blank. The BJP won all five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand and got a vote share of 61 per cent. In a mixed showing for the BJP in Goa, the party lost South Goa Lok Sabha seat to the Congress but managed to retain North Goa constituency held by Union minister Shripad Naik. BJP won the sole seat in Chandigarh with its MP Kirron Kher winning with a margin of 46970 votes against Congress leader Pawan Kumar Bansal.


NDA wins 11 out of 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand

The BJP  won 11 out of 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand while Congress, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and AJSU party bagged one seat each. In Puducherry, the ruling Congress won the lone seat with its candidate V Vaithilingam with a margin of 197025 votes against his nearest rival Narayanasamy Kesavan of AINRC. In the lone Sikkim Lok Sabha seat, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha's Indra Hang Subba defeated Sikkim Democratic Front's Dek Bahadur Katwal with a margin of 12433 votes.



Clean sweep for BJP in Haryana

It was a clean sweep for the Bharatiya Janata Party in Haryana where it won all 10 Lok Sabha seats.  


Gujarat wins all 26 seats

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) swept all 26 seats, got 62.21 per cent vote share in Lok Sabha election. Congress got a vote share of 32.11 per cent in Gujarat.  


TRS suffers setback in Telangana

The ruling TRS suffered a setback in the Lok Sabha election in Telangana, winning lower-than-expected nine out of the 17 seats. A resurgent BJP sprang a surprise emerging victorious in four constituencies The Congress also put up a decent show, securing three segments in the state.


BJP wins Madhya Pradesh

The Congress failed to capitalise on its Assembly poll victories in December as BJP bagged 28 of 29 Lok Sabha seats, while the Congress bagged just one seat. 


BJP gets a resounding win in Karnataka

Steamrolling the ruling Congress-JDS alliance, the BJP scored a resounding win in Karnataka, bagging 25 out of the total 28 Lok Sabha seats in an outcome that left the one-year-old Kumaraswamy government in a tizzy over its stability. Former Congress MP and independent candidate Mohan Delkar has won from Dadra and Nagar Haveli, a Union Territory, defeating sitting BJP MP Natubhai Patel by a thin margin of 9,001 votes


YSRCP wins 22 Lok Sabha seats

Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) won 22 Lok Sabha constituencies while TDP candidates bagged 3 seats out of 25 Lok Sabha seats in the Andhra Pradesh.


Jammu & Kashmir Lok Sabha election

Of the 6 seats in Jammu & Kashmir, National Conference and Bharatiya Janata Party bagged 3 seats each. In 13 seats in Punjab, Congress won 8 seats, Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiromani Akali Dal won 2 seats each and Aam Aadmi Party bagged one seat. In Himachal Pradesh, BJP won all 4 Lok Sabha seats.


BJP wins all seats in Delhi

The BJP won all 7 seats in Delhi with Congress at the second spot and AAP pushed to third spot in terms of vote margins. Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He tweeted, "I congratulate Shri Narendra Modi for this historic win and look forward to working together for the betterment of the people of Delhi." 


BJD dominates Lok Sabha election in Odisha

The ruling Biju Janata Dal dominated in Lok Sabha election in Odisha winning 12 of 21 seats while BJP won 8 seats. Congress only managed to win one seat.


BJP wins 23, Shiv Sena 18 seats in Maharashtra

In Maharashtra, the BJP has won 23 and ally Shiv Sena 18 seats in Maharashtra. The NCP has won four seats while Congress, AIMIM and an Independent has bagged one seat each. There are 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra.

In Manipur, the BJP and Naga Peoples Front have bagged one seat each.


BJP wins 9 seats, Congress 3

In Assam, BJP has won 9 seats, Congress has won 3 seats while All India United Democratic Front and an Independent bagged one seat each.


Party performance in Arunachal Pradesh and J&K

BJP has won both the Lok Sabha seats - Arunachal East and Arunachal West in Arunachal Pradesh.  In Jammu and Kashmir's 6 Lok Sabha seats, BJP bagged 3 while National Conference won the remaining 3 seats.


Congress candidate Kuldeep Rai Sharma bagged lone Lok Sabha seat in Andaman and Nicobar Islands after defeating BJP candidate Vishal Jolly by 1407 votes.

Most Popular