India election 2019

EC notice to Railways, Civil Aviation ministries over PM pictures on tickets

According to EC, Railways and Air India violate the model code of conduct which came into force on March 10, when the poll body announced the schedule for the Lok Sabha polls beginning from April 11. 

Jun 30, 2019, 12:32 PM IST

Congress will not stake claim to Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha

To stake claim for the Leader of Opposition, a party needs to win at least 1/10th of the total seats in the Lok Sabha.

Jun 01, 2019, 15:43 PM IST

40 MPs were enough to take on BJP, this time we are 52: Rahul Gandhi at CPP meet

Rahul, who contested from two Lok Sabha constituencies this election, won from Wayanad but lost his traditional Amethi seat to BJP's Smriti Irani. 


Jun 01, 2019, 12:54 PM IST

White kurta-pyjama with hues of saffron and Hindi language dominating themes at swearing-in ceremony

The mega event took place in the sprawling forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan which was attended by heads of states of various countries and a galaxy of other high-profile guests.

May 31, 2019, 06:56 AM IST

Narendra Modi, Council of Ministers take oath

Over 50 ministers joined Narendra Modi in taking oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

May 30, 2019, 20:12 PM IST

Heeraben Modi watches son Narendra take oath as PM of India on TV

Heeraben lives with PM Modi's brother in Ahmedabad and watched the proceedings at Rashtrapati Bhavan on television set at her home.

May 30, 2019, 19:33 PM IST

JDU, Apna Dal not part of Narendra Modi ministry

 "We had been given symbolic representation. We were not ready to accept it. We are intact with NDA and there is no acrimony," says Nitish Kumar.

May 30, 2019, 18:35 PM IST

BJP's Kailash Choudhary rushes to Delhi's CP to shop for clothes after ministerial call

Although he had defeated Manvendra Singh, son of veteran politician Jaswant Singh, Kailash Choudhary hardly expected to be asked to be part of the oath ceremony on stage.

May 30, 2019, 17:26 PM IST

PMO dials several BJP MPs, NDA leaders to take oath in Modi 2.0 government: Check out the list

Following BJP MPs and NDA leaders have got the call Prime Minsiter's Office to take oath as ministers: 

May 30, 2019, 15:44 PM IST

From Nitin Gadkari to Sadanand Gowda, several MPs all set to be part of Narendra Modi's Cabinet again

Prime Minister Modi, along with his council of ministers, will take oath as the 15th the Prime Minister of India in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

May 30, 2019, 15:33 PM IST

Bihar Congress chief claims party leaders conspired against Rahul Gandhi in Lok Sabha election

Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee working president Shyam Sunder Singh Dhiraj held a 4-member team of Congress leaders and the allies responsible for the party's loss in the election. 

May 30, 2019, 14:12 PM IST

Manipur: 12 Congress MLAs tender resignation from party posts citing moral ground

The MLAs, however, said that they will not leave the party but will start working again at the grassroots level.

May 30, 2019, 11:10 AM IST

Congress to stay away from debates on news channels for a month

"All media channels/editors are requested to not place Congress representatives on their shows," tweeted Surjewala.

May 30, 2019, 09:55 AM IST

Heavy rains in Vijayawada affect venue for swearing-in ceremony of Andhra CM

The downpour accompanied by strong winds affected the Indira Gandhi Stadium where Reddy is set to take oath here as the new chief minister of the state.

May 30, 2019, 08:28 AM IST

Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony to be biggest ever event at Rashtrapati Bhavan; multi-layer security in Delhi

A tight and multi-layered security arrangement has been made in the national capital with the deployment of around 10,000 security personnel from Delhi Police and paramilitary forces.

May 30, 2019, 06:26 AM IST

PM Modi meets Arun Jaitley, asks him to reconsider decision on not joining government

PM Modi also held a marathon meeting with Bharatiya Janata Party chief Amit Shah which lasted nearly four hours and in which, members of the new council of ministers were discussed.a;lso

May 29, 2019, 22:40 PM IST

PM Narendra Modi's oath ceremony: What's on the menu for guests at Rashtrapati Bhavan

The highlight on the menu is a dish called Dal Raisina which has spices from Awadh lending it an aromatic tinge and a flavourful taste.

May 29, 2019, 21:07 PM IST

Narendra Modi's oath ceremony: Four Presidents, three PMs in attendance at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Narendra Modi is the only non-Congress PM to win two successive terms in office.

May 29, 2019, 20:43 PM IST

Rahul, Sonia Gandhi to attend PM Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony

The ceremony will take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan and will begin from 7 pm on Thursday (May 30).

May 29, 2019, 19:28 PM IST

Amit Shah meets PM Narendra Modi to deliberate on new council of ministers

A day ahead of the swearing-in ceremony, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Amit Shah held a lengthy meeting over the formation of the council of ministers.

May 29, 2019, 18:33 PM IST