Lok Sabha results 2019

Atrocities on Dalits during SP's rule in UP cost us in Lok Sabha election: Mayawati

Mayawati has been relentless in her attack against Akhilesh Yadav since the Mahagatbandhan came apart in Uttar Pradesh.

Jun 24, 2019, 06:52 AM IST

White kurta-pyjama with hues of saffron and Hindi language dominating themes at swearing-in ceremony

The mega event took place in the sprawling forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan which was attended by heads of states of various countries and a galaxy of other high-profile guests.

May 31, 2019, 06:56 AM IST

BIMSTEC leaders arrive in Delhi for PM Narendra Modi's swearing-in

The Govt of India had earlier invited the BIMSTEC leaders for PM Modi's oath ceremony.  

May 30, 2019, 16:33 PM IST

Jagan Reddy, KCR to skip Narendra Modi govt's oath ceremony as no-fly zone declared in Delhi

The duo was forced to cancel their Delhi trip after a no-fly zone was declared in Delhi from 4 PM. 

May 30, 2019, 15:58 PM IST

PMO dials several BJP MPs, NDA leaders to take oath in Modi 2.0 government: Check out the list

Following BJP MPs and NDA leaders have got the call Prime Minsiter's Office to take oath as ministers: 

May 30, 2019, 15:44 PM IST

Bihar Congress chief claims party leaders conspired against Rahul Gandhi in Lok Sabha election

Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee working president Shyam Sunder Singh Dhiraj held a 4-member team of Congress leaders and the allies responsible for the party's loss in the election. 

May 30, 2019, 14:12 PM IST

Manipur: 12 Congress MLAs tender resignation from party posts citing moral ground

The MLAs, however, said that they will not leave the party but will start working again at the grassroots level.

May 30, 2019, 11:10 AM IST

Congress to stay away from debates on news channels for a month

"All media channels/editors are requested to not place Congress representatives on their shows," tweeted Surjewala.

May 30, 2019, 09:55 AM IST

Heavy rains in Vijayawada affect venue for swearing-in ceremony of Andhra CM

The downpour accompanied by strong winds affected the Indira Gandhi Stadium where Reddy is set to take oath here as the new chief minister of the state.

May 30, 2019, 08:28 AM IST

Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony to be biggest ever event at Rashtrapati Bhavan; multi-layer security in Delhi

A tight and multi-layered security arrangement has been made in the national capital with the deployment of around 10,000 security personnel from Delhi Police and paramilitary forces.

May 30, 2019, 06:26 AM IST

PM Modi meets Arun Jaitley, asks him to reconsider decision on not joining government

PM Modi also held a marathon meeting with Bharatiya Janata Party chief Amit Shah which lasted nearly four hours and in which, members of the new council of ministers were discussed.a;lso

May 29, 2019, 22:40 PM IST

Rahul, Sonia Gandhi to attend PM Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony

The ceremony will take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan and will begin from 7 pm on Thursday (May 30).

May 29, 2019, 19:28 PM IST

Amit Shah meets PM Narendra Modi to deliberate on new council of ministers

A day ahead of the swearing-in ceremony, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Amit Shah held a lengthy meeting over the formation of the council of ministers.

May 29, 2019, 18:33 PM IST

From requests to pleads and puja, Congress does it all to change Rahul Gandhi's mind on resignation

Congress workers and leaders have been working overtime to convince Rahul Gandhi to reconsider his decision to resign as party chief after a massive defeat in Lok Sabha election 2019.

May 29, 2019, 18:06 PM IST

Rashtrapati Bhavan gets decked up for Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony

The ceremony will begin from 7pm on Thursday (May 30) and high tea will be served to guests. The menu includes lemon tart, sandwiches, samosas and sweets.

May 29, 2019, 17:40 PM IST

More TMC leaders join BJP, party MLA Manirul Islam latest to switch sides

The Trinamool Congress downplayed the development and claimed that the leaders have been made to join BJP at gunpoint. 

May 29, 2019, 17:08 PM IST

Will plead to Rahul Gandhi to not resign as Congress president: Sheila Dikshit

"We are going near the residence of Rahul Gandhi to demonstrate there and convey our feelings that he should not resign," Sheila Dikshit said.

May 29, 2019, 15:44 PM IST

Amit Shah likely to be given charge of Finance Ministry in Narendra Modi government 2.0: Sources

The Finance Ministry in the first term was held by Arun Jaitley but owing to his ill health, he has formally requested the PM to be not be given any official responsibility in the next ministry. 

May 29, 2019, 15:34 PM IST

Mamata Banerjee will not attend PM Modi's swearing-in, says 'please excuse me'

Mamata Banerjee said that she was forced to turn down the invitation after coming across media reports in which the BJP) claimed that over 50 people were murdered in poll-related violence across the state.

May 29, 2019, 14:43 PM IST

Why Mamata Banerjee refused to attend Narendra Modi's swearing-in: Full text of her letter to the PM

Mamata said that the oath-taking ceremony is an august occasion to celebrate democracy, "not one that should be devalued by any political party."

May 29, 2019, 14:39 PM IST