News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Raigad Lok Sabha Constituency

Anant Gangaram Geete of the Shiv Sena is the incumbent MP from this constituency

Raigad Lok Sabha Constituency

Raigad Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the 48 parliamentary constituencies of the state of Maharashtra. The Raigad Lok Sabha constituency came into existence after the delimitation of constituencies in 2008. It is composed of six Vidhan Sabha segments. 

The Assembly Constituencies that fall in Raigad parliamentary constituency are Pen, Alibag, Shrivardhan, Mahad, Dapoli and Guhagar.

The election here will be conducted on April 23, 2019, as per the Phase III schedule announced by the ECI.

Raigad Lok Sabha Constituency of Maharashtra: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Maharashtra Lok Sabha constituencies: All you need to know

Anant Gangaram Geete of the Shiv Sena is the incumbent MP from this constituency.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Anant Geete got 396178 votes and defeated Tatkare Sunil Dattatreya of the NCP.

The prestigious seat will see a direct electoral fight between the Shiv Sena (BJP) and the NCP.

Shiv Sena has renominated Annat Geete from Raigad Lok Sabha seat. 

He will contest against Sunil Tatkare of the NCP. 

Maharashtra is the second largest state in the country in terms of Lok Sabha seats. Uttar Pradesh has 80 seats and Maharashtra 48. So, it is important for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well as the Opposition to win more and more seats in the state. 

As per the seat-sharing formula, the BJP and its ally Shiv Sena are contesting on 25 and 23 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. 

After several months of deliberations, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have formed an alliance in Maharashtra for the general elections 2019. As per the deal, Congress will contest on 26 seats, whereas the NCP will contest on 22 seats. The two senior partners will part with two seats each for their smaller allies.

Some key smaller parties like Swabhimani Shetkari Sangathana, Bahujan Vikash Aghadi, Peasant and Workers Party, factions of Republican group leaders, like Jogendra Kawade and RG Gavai, independent leader Ravi Rana have also joined hands with the opposition ranks. 

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the alliance of the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha together registered a victory on 42 seats in Maharashtra. The Congress bagged twos eats, while the NCP four. 

Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. 

The results would be declared on May 23.