Nagarkurnool Lok Sabha constituency

In the 2014 election, Congress candidate Nandi Yellaiah had won the seat by a margin of 16,676 votes.

Nagarkurnool Lok Sabha constituency

Nagarkurnool is one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana. The first phase of voting in 17 constituencies of Telangana ended on April 11 with 60.57 per cent of the electorate exercising their franchise. The fate of 11 candidates contesting from Nagarkurnool will be decided on May 23 when counting of votes takes place and the result is declared.

Nagarkurnool parliamentary constituency comprises of seven assembly segments namely Kollapur, Kalwakurthy, Nagarkurnool, Gadwal, Wanaparthy, Achampet and Alampur. Of these, Achampet and Alampur are assembly constituencies which have been reserved for Scheduled Castes.

The seat which was a Congress stronghold in the early years has seen power oscillate between the grand old party and the Telugu Desam Party in the last few elections. In the 2014 election, Congress candidate Nandi Yellaiah had won the seat by a margin of 16,676 votes. Nandi Yellaiah had won 4,20,075 as against Telangana Rashtra Samithi candidate Manda Jagannath who won 4,03,399 votes.

In 2009 too, Congress had won the seat with party candidate Manda Jagannath securing 4,22,745 votes. Telangana Rashtra Samithi's Guvvala Balaraju had bagged the second spot with 3,74,978 votes while Praja Rajyam Party's Devani Satyanarayana had bagged 62,216 votes.

In Nagarkurnool, 75.55 per cent or 11,16,159 voters exercised their franchise in the last election. Of the 6 contestants who were in the fray, 3 of them lost their deposits.

In the 2019 election, Congress has fielded Mallu Ravi Challa as against Telangana Rashtra Samithi's Pothuganti Ramulu and Bharatiya Janata Party's Shruthi Bangaru.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.