Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency of Andhra Pradesh: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Here is the full list of candidates contesting the Lok Sabha election in 2019 from Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency of Andhra Pradesh.

Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency of Andhra Pradesh: Full list of candidates, polling dates
File Photo

Rajampet is one of 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and is situated in the Rayalaseema region of the state.

Rajampet registered 78.40 percent voter turnout in Lok Sabha Election 2019, a gain of 0.58 percent from 2014. The total number of electors in the constituency is 1545389 while 1211572 came out to exercise their franchise. While in 2014, the constituency registered 77.82 percent voter turnout. The total number of electors in the constituency was 1325180 while 1031234 voted.

The polling was done in the first phase on April 11, 2019 and the result will be out on May 23, 2019.

Andhra Pradesh constituencies: All you need to know

SL. NO. Candidate Name Party Name
1 P.V.MIDHUN REDDY Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party
2 M.SHAJAHAN BASHA (JAHA) Indian National Congress
3 D A SATHYA PRABHA Telugu Desam
4 ASADI. VENKATADRI Rashtriya Krantikari Samajwadi Party
7 KHADER VALI SHAIK Indian Union Muslim League
8 SYED MUKARRAM Janasena Party
13 M.SHAJAHAN BASHA (JAHA) Independent

The constituency came into existence in 1957 and since, was a fortress of sorts for Congress even though Swatantra Party candidate CL Narasimha Reddy did secure a win in the Lok Sabha election of 1962.

Congress hit back with successive triumphs in the Lok Sabha elections of 1967, 1971, 1977 and 1980 (for Congress (Indira)).  TDP secured its maiden win here in 1984 before Congress maned to get back to winning ways between 1989 and 1998. 


In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, YSRCP's PV Midhun Reddy crossed the finish line first by defeating BJP's Daggubati Purandeswari - a former union minister - by a margin of 1,74762 votes. The TDP had given BJP three of the four Lok Sabha seats as part of their alliance at that point in time - Rajampet being one of them.


Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.