Who Is Mohan Charan Majhi, New Odisha Chief Minister? KV Singh Deo, Pravati Parida To Become Dy CMs

Mohan Charan Manjhi is the BJP MLA from the state's Keonjhar assembly seat.

Who Is Mohan Charan Majhi, New Odisha Chief Minister? KV Singh Deo, Pravati Parida To Become Dy CMs

The Odisha BJP has decided that Mohan Charan Manjhi will be the new Chief Minister of the state. Manjhi is the BJP MLA from the state's Keonjhar assembly seat. In the recently concluded Odisha assembly elections, Manjhi defeated BJD candidate Mina Manjhi by over 11.000 votes. Manjhi was elected during the meeting of the BJP Odisha legislature party meeting. During the meeting, two deputy CMs have also been picked -KV Singh Deo and Pravati Parida.

Pravati Parida bagged the Nimapara Assembly constituency by defeating Dillip Kumar Nayak of the BJP with a margin of 4,588 votes. KV Singh Deo bagged the Patnagarh seat by defeating BJD's Saroj Kumar Mehere by 1,357 votes. Deo belongs to the erstwhile royal family of Patna in Bolangir and had earlier served as a cabinet minister in the Odisha government. He had also served as the BJP Odisha president.

Who Is Mohan Manjhi?

Mamjhi is a four-term MLA from the Keonjhar seat. He belongs to the Adivasi community. Mohan Majhi, a prominent member of the tribal community, was first elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly from the Keonjhar constituency in 2000. Since then, he has consistently represented this constituency, demonstrating sustained electoral success. Over his tenure as a four-time MLA, Majhi has been a vocal critic of the Biju Janata Dal, led by former Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Odisha Swearing In Ceremony

Mohan Manjhi will take oat of office tomorrow. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the oath-taking ceremony at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar. The BJP has also invited BJD president and outgoing chief minister Naveen Patnaik to the event. Notably, the first invitation card was given to Lord Jagannath in Puri, delivered by some newly elected MLAs at the 12th-century shrine.

Odisha Assembly Election Results 2024

The BJP secured a comfortable majority in the 147-member Assembly by winning 78 seats. The BJP had fared poorly in the state assembly elections since 2009 when its alliance with the BJD ended. Naveen Patnaik has since led the BJD to power ruling the state for 24 years.