Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency

Sharad Bansode of BJP is the incumbent Member of Parliament from the Solapur parliamentary constituency.

Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency

Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency is one of Maharashtra’s 48 Lok Sabha parliamentary constituencies. It was formed before the 1951 elections.

Reserved for the SC category, the Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency comprises six Vidhan Sabha segments.

The electors in the Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency will cast their votes on April 18 in the second phase of 2019 Lok Sabha election.

Sharad Bansode of BJP is the incumbent Member of Parliament from the Solapur parliamentary constituency.

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, Jadhav Sanjay (Bandu) Haribhau was declared a winner from this seat.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, Sharad Bansode bagged 517,879 votes to defeat Shinde Sushilkumar Sambhajirao INC who bagged 368,205 votes.

Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency of Maharashtra: Full list of candidates, polling dates

In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, stakes are high for the Congress in Solapur Lok Sabha constituency of Maharashtra.

This time, the BJP denied ticket to its sitting lawmaker and pitted religious leader Jai Siddeshwar Swamy against Congress veteran Sushil Kumar Shinde from this seat.

Maharashtra is the second largest state in the country in terms of Lok Sabha seats. Uttar Pradesh has 80 seats and Maharashtra 48. So, it is important for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well as the Opposition to win more and more seats in the state.

As per the seat-sharing formula, the BJP and its ally Shiv Sena are contesting on 25 and 23 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra.

After several months of deliberations, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have formed an alliance in Maharashtra for the general elections 2019.

As per the deal, Congress will contest on 26 seats, whereas the NCP will contest on 22 seats. The two senior partners will part with two seats each for their allies.

Some key smaller parties like Swabhimani Shetkari Sangathana, Bahujan Vikash Aghadi, Peasant and Workers Party, factions of Republican group leaders, like Jogendra Kawade and RG Gavai, independent leader Ravi Rana have also joined hands with the opposition ranks.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the alliance of the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha together registered a victory on 42 seats in Maharashtra. The Congress bagged twos eats, while the NCP four.

Lok Sabha election 2019 will take place in seven phases across the country – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

The results would be declared on May 23.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.