News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Vidya, Shah Rukh, Akshay, Priyanka emerge big winners at Stardust awards

Mumbai: Actress Vidya Balan continued to win the best actress award while Shah Rukh Khan, Akshay Kumar and Priyanka Chopra bagged two awards each at the Stardust awards held here last night.

The best actor (drama) award went to Hrithik Roshan for his performance as modern day Vijay Dinanath Chauhan in the remake of 'Agneepath', while the best actress (drama) was bagged by Priyanka Chopra for 'Barfi!' and Sridevi for her comeback film 'English Vinglish'.

While the best actor award in action thriller category went to Akshay Kumar for 'Rowdy Rathore', the best actress trophy in the same category was won by Vidya Balan for her role in 'Kahaani'.

Amitabh Bachchan was honoured as star of the century. The pride of the industry award was given to yesteryear actress Vyjayanthimala.

The best actor award in comic-romance role was handed over to Abhishek Bachchan for 'Bol Bachchan' and Anushka Sharma was adjudged the best actress for 'Jab Tak Hai Jaan' in the same category.

The star of the year male award was shared by Akshay Kumar and Shah Rukh Khan while the award in the female category was won by Priyanka Chopra.

'Barfi!' won the film of the year award.

Sanjay Dutt won the best actor award in a negative role for his performance as Kancha Cheena in 'Agneepath'.

The editor's choice award was given to Shah Rukh Khan for 'Jab Tak Hai Jaan' and Kareena Kapoor for 'Heroine'.

The breakthrough supporting actor award was shared by Prosenjit Chatterjee for 'Shanghai' and Nawazuddin Siddiqui for 'Talaash', 'Gangs of Wasseypur' and 'Kahaani' and in the same category, the supporting actress award went to Shazahn Padamsee for 'Housefull 2'.

Superstar of tomorrow award (male) was won by Arjun Kapoor and the female category award by Parineeti Chopra for 'Ishaqzaade'.

Most promising actor award was given to Varun Dhawan and Siddharth Malhotra while Karan Johar won the dream director award.

The hottest new filmmaker award was given to Kabir Khan for 'Ek Tha Tiger' and hottest new film was 'Kahaani'.

The Stardust search light category best actor award was shared by Manoj Bajpayee for 'Gangs of Wasseypur' and Ayushmann Khurrana for 'Vicky Donor', the best actress award went to Farah Khan (Shirin Farhad ki Toh Nikal Padi), best film to 'Vicky Donor' and best director - Gauri Shinde - for 'English Vinglish'.

In the music category Ajay and Atul won stand out performance best music director award for 'Agneepath' and Habib Faisal and Kausar Munir won stand out performance best lyricist award for 'Ishaqzaade'.

The award show saw performances by Kareena Kapoor, newcomers Varun Dhawan and Siddharth Malhotra, Parineeti Chopra, Sonakshi Sinha and others while the ceremony was hosted by Ayushmann Khurrana.

At the beginning of the 11th Stardust awards, a one minute silence was observed for two legends of Hindi cinema superstar Rajesh Khanna and 'King of Romance' Yash Chopra, both of whom passed away last year.

The event was held last night at the BKC MMRDA grounds in suburban Mumbai.