BJP wins 40 seats, Congress stages comeback with 30 seats, JJP eyes kingmaker's role

 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious on 40 seats and Congress remained on the second position Congress with 31 seats. 

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 23:21

Counting of votes for Haryana Assembly ended on Thursday, October 24. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious on 40 seats and Congress remained on the second position Congress with 31 seats. 

JJP which is likely to become the kingmaker bagged 10 seats in Haryana by-polls. 

7 independent candidates won the election in the state and two seats reamined with other regional parties.

Here are the highlights of Haryana Assembly election. 

Thank you for staying with us



24 October 2019, 23:05 PM

Result Known For 90 out of 90 Constituencies  
Party Won
Bharatiya Janata Party 40
Haryana Lokhit Party 1
Independent 7
Indian National Congress 31
Indian National Lok Dal 1
Jannayak Janta Party 10
Total 90

24 October 2019, 19:09 PM

 Home Minister Amit Shah while addressing party workers in BJP Headquater, said, ''I congratulate the people of Haryana. I am happy that BJP saw three per cent rise in votes in Haryana by-polls'' 

24 October 2019, 18:45 PM

PM Narendra Modi: I thank the people of Haryana for blessing us. We will continue to work with same zeal and dedication for the state’s progress. I laud the efforts of hardworking BJP Haryana karyakartas who toiled extensively&went amongst people to elaborate on our development agenda.

24 October 2019, 18:31 PM

Bhupendra Singh Hooda leaves for Delhi to meet Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Ahmed Patel.

24 October 2019, 17:58 PM

Independent MLA Gopal Kanda is in touch with BJP, may support the party in Haryana: Sources

24 October 2019, 17:52 PM

BJP president and Union Home Minister Amit Shah thanked the voters of Haryana for supporting BJP and making it the single largest party. Shah also thanked Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar, Haryana BJP president Subhash Barala and BJP workers.

24 October 2019, 17:46 PM

24 October 2019, 17:43 PM

 Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar to meet Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya later this evening, to stake his claim to form the govt in the state, said sources. 

24 October 2019, 17:42 PM

Haryana Minister & BJP leader Anil Vij wins from Ambala Cantonment Assembly constituency.

24 October 2019, 17:34 PM

24 October 2019, 17:29 PM

JJP may support BJP in Haryana, hints Dushyant Chautala

24 October 2019, 17:14 PM

Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh on being asked do you give credit to Bhupinder Singh Hooda for Haryana said, ''The credit goes 100%, to our party, to our party workers. We really won the show, with a little more effort we would have won.''

24 October 2019, 17:09 PM

The mandate is against the current government of Haryana and all parties should come together to form a strong government whether it's JJP, BSP, INLD or independent candidates: Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda after winning from Garhi Sampla Kiloi Assembly Constituency.

24 October 2019, 16:27 PM

PM Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah will meet and address BJP party workers at the party headquarters this evening. BJP Parliamentary Board will also meet at the party headquarters today.

24 October 2019, 15:28 PM

BJP's Captain Abhimanyu loses to Ram Kumar Gautam of BJP from Narnaund.

24 October 2019, 15:25 PM

Naina Singh of JJP wins Badhra seat, BJP's Mool Chand Sharma bags Ballabhgarh while Congress' Neeraj Sharma gets Faridabad NIT seat. 

24 October 2019, 15:25 PM

BJP minister Anil Vij wins from Ambala Cantt.

24 October 2019, 15:15 PM

JJP chief Dushyant Chautala wins from Uchana Kalan seat in Haryana; Tik-Tok star Sonali Phogat lost Adampur seat to three-time MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi from the Congress.

24 October 2019, 15:09 PM

Manohar Lal Khattar is leading in Karnal assembly seat by 41,950 votes. Congress' Tarlochan Singh is trailing.

24 October 2019, 15:01 PM

BJP's Haryana chief Subhash Barala says that he has not resigned from his post and that the news of his resignation is a rumour. 

24 October 2019, 14:40 PM

Only if BJP gets majority, then it will have moral right to form govt in Haryana: Ashwani Kumar


24 October 2019, 14:30 PM

The mandate is against the Manohar Lal Khattar government. The promises made to the farmers were not fulfilled. All parties should come together to form a strong government, Bhupinder Singh Hooda said. 

On a question over CM's post, Hooda added that it is up to the party MLAs to decide. 

24 October 2019, 14:21 PM

BJP is trying to pressurise independent candidates as most of them want to join us. It can't be accepted in a democracy. Independent candidates should be able to freely choose the party whom they wish to support. I want to appeal to EC about it through media: DS Hooda, Congress. 

24 October 2019, 14:20 PM

24 October 2019, 14:09 PM

Today, it's clear that people's mandate is to throw off Manohar Lal Khattar's government. I want to ask Dushyant Chautala (JJP), independent candidates & other parties to come together and form coalition government in Haryana so that people’s mandate can be respected: Deepender Singh Hooda

24 October 2019, 13:54 PM

Newly-elected JJP MLAs to meet at 11 am on Friday, party national executive at 1 pm to decide on government formation in Haryana.

24 October 2019, 13:36 PM

Ram Karan of JJP is a former minister. 

24 October 2019, 13:33 PM

JJP's Ram Karan wins from Shahbad (SC) by 37,127 votes. BJP's Krishan Kumar lost to Karan. 

24 October 2019, 13:31 PM

Kumari Selja credits Rahul Gandhi for Congress' good show in Haryana.

24 October 2019, 13:31 PM

24 October 2019, 13:26 PM

24 October 2019, 13:26 PM

The time has come for Congress, JJP, INLD, and independents to come together to form a strong government: Hooda

24 October 2019, 13:26 PM

Bhupinder Singh Hooda seeks support of all non-BJP parties in forming government in Haryana, says voters against Manohar Lal Khattar government.

24 October 2019, 13:24 PM

Haryana BJP chief Subhash Barala resigns over party's dismal performance.

24 October 2019, 12:44 PM

Randeep Singh Surjewala is leading from the Kaithal Assembly constituency after the fifth round of voting, according to the official trends reported by the Election Commission. Surjewala is contesting against BJP's Leela Ram from the seat.

24 October 2019, 12:33 PM

Babita Phogat leading with a margin of 2,387 votes in Dadri assembly constituency.

24 October 2019, 12:06 PM

24 October 2019, 11:52 AM

Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee President Kumari Selja meets party leader Ahmed Patel in Delhi today.

24 October 2019, 11:30 AM

In a bid to form government in Haryana, BJP asks party members not to speak against JJP and Akali Dal leaders. 

24 October 2019, 11:17 AM

Sonia Gandhi speaks to Bhupendra Singh Hooda as Haryana stares at hung Assembly. 

24 October 2019, 10:52 AM

JJP leader Dushyant Chautala leading on Haryana's Uchana Kalan assembly seat.

24 October 2019, 10:43 AM

Congress in talks with JJP to form government in Haryana.

24 October 2019, 10:31 AM

24 October 2019, 10:31 AM

Sources say BJP to seek support of smaller parties and independents to form government in Haryana.

24 October 2019, 10:20 AM

24 October 2019, 10:19 AM

Karnal: Manohar Lal Khattar leading with 4588 votes after first round of counting. 

24 October 2019, 10:17 AM

24 October 2019, 10:12 AM

BJP's Babita Phogat leading in Dadri Assembly constituency.

24 October 2019, 10:11 AM

24 October 2019, 10:10 AM