Assembly Election 2019

Mahagathbandhan leaders will meet and decide future course of action: Hemant Soren

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) chief Hemant Soren said the party's win in Jharkhand is the victory of grand alliance (Mahagathbandhan), and thanked the people of the state, while addressing a press conference here on Monday (December 23). 

Dec 23, 2019, 17:49 PM IST

Jharkhand poll trends set Twitter abuzz

#JharkhandElectionResults trended on Twitter with 12.2K tweets whereas #JharkhandassemblyPolls got 28.1K tweets. According to the Election Commission, the BJP led on 28 seats while the Grand Alliance comprising the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, the Congress, and the Rashtriya Janata Dal led on 41 of the total 81 seats.

Dec 23, 2019, 14:18 PM IST

Congress-JMM supporters celebrate early lead of the alliance in Jharkhand

Congress-JMM supporters are confident of Hemant Soren to b the next chief minister of Jharkhand. According to Election Commission data, available at 12:15 am, Congress-JMM alliance is leading on 37 seats in the state.

Dec 23, 2019, 12:21 PM IST

JMM-Congress-RJD alliance leads in Jharkhand, talks with Babulal Marandi's JVM

The Congress has spoken to former ally Babulal Marandi whose party JVM is leading on at least 4 seats. However, JVM has not given any assurance to the Congress leaders so far, but have said that the party will hold talks only after the final results are out.

Dec 23, 2019, 12:08 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019: BJP may join hands with Babulal Marandi's JVM

With 42 being the magic figure, it will not only need its former ally AJSU but Babulal Marandi's party as well. While the BJP is confident of striking a "deal" with AJSU, it is not as sure about the JVM. This is the reason, a premature overture is made towards the JVM.

Dec 23, 2019, 11:53 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019: Congress-JMM alliance likely to form government

According to trends, the BJP is leading on 27 and the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is ahead in 43 seats. The AJSU and the JVM are leading on three and four seats respectively.

Dec 23, 2019, 11:37 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019: Raghubar Das bites the dust, BJP routed

Five years of stable government by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to impress the voters as the party was routed in Jharkhand Assembly election 2019 whose result was declared on Monday. Even chief minister Raghubar Das, accused of sidelining other leaders, taking unilateral decision which were against the people and failing to ensure unity in the rank and file, failed tp hold on to his Jamshedpur East Assembly constituency which he had been winning since 1995 when Jharkhand was part of Bihar.

Dec 23, 2019, 11:03 AM IST

Jharkhand results: JMM's Hemant Soren leading from Barhait, trailing from Dumka

Hemant Soren is trailing from Dumka seat with BJP`s Louis Marandi leading there by 6329 votes. The counting of votes for 81 Jharkhand Assembly seats began at 8 am on Monday in all the 24 district headquarters amid tight security.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:54 AM IST

Jharkhand BJP in-charge confident of winning 50 seats

The counting of votes for 81 Assembly constituencies is taking place in Jharkhand and the final result is expected to be announced later in the day. The supporters of the opposition alliance in the state seem to be encouraged by exits polls that have predicted a marginal advantage to the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-led alliance and have pointed towards a hung Assembly.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:44 AM IST

JVM, AJSU may be kingmaker if Jharkhand Assembly election throws up hung house

As per initial trends, the BJP is leading on 30 and Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is in 41 seats. The AJSU and the JVM are leading on five and four seats respectively.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:36 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: List of other winners

The Congress-JMM-RJD won an absolute majority by winning 47 seats in 81-member Jharkhand Assembly, the results of which were declared on Monday. JMM won 30 seats, Congress 16, RJD one, BJP 25, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) three, AJSU two, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) one, NCP one and independents two.

Dec 23, 2019, 09:59 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) winners

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) contested the election in an alliance with the JMM and Congress. Jharkhand witnessed a keen battle between two national parties, the BJP and the Congress contesting with regional parties like AJSU Party, JMM, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) and RJD. The JMM contested in 43 seats, Congress in 31 and the third partner in the alliance RJD fielded its candidates on seven seats.


Dec 23, 2019, 09:41 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) winners

In 2014, the BJP and AJSU alliance fetched 42 seats - (37 and 5, respectively) - but the Sudesh Mahto-led AJSU decided to jump into the battleground alone.

Dec 23, 2019, 09:27 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winners

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das is up against Hemant Soren of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), whose party is fighting the election in alliance with the Congress and RJD. Soren is the alliance's CM face. While Das contested from Jamshedpur (East), BJP state unit president Lakshman Gilua fought the election from Chakradharpur. 

Dec 23, 2019, 09:19 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: Full list of winners in 81 seats

The main parties in Jharkhand are the BJP, JMM, All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU), Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM), Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal. While the Congress has an alliance with JMM and RJD, the BJP and AJSU, who earlier fought the elections together, decided to go solo. 

Dec 23, 2019, 09:11 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) winners

The alliance of JMM-Congress-RJD has declared JMM's working president Hemant Soren as its chief ministerial candidate. Leaders of this alliance are fairly confident after the reports of dissatisfaction in the BJP ranks after ticket distribution surfaced.

Dec 23, 2019, 09:00 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Congress winners

In the 2014 Assembly election, the JMM, Congress and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) had formed an alliance. However, the JVM has moved away this time.

Dec 23, 2019, 08:54 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Babulal Marandi's Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) winners

Former Jharkhand chief minister Babulal Marandi-led Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) contested on all 81 seats in the state. JVM managed to register win in three constituencies namely Dhanwar, Poreyahat, Sarath

Dec 23, 2019, 08:46 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly result 2019: Uphill task for BJP to retain power as exit polls favour JMM-led alliance

Fate of incumbent Chief Minister Raghubar Das will be decided on Monday as the results of the Jharkhand Assembly election are expected to be declared in the state, where the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is facing a stiff electoral challenge from the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led alliance. Going by the exit polls, emulating the success it got in the 2014 elections, could be an uphill task for the BJP.

Dec 23, 2019, 07:34 AM IST

Anything but '65 par': How BJP got its math wrong in Jharkhand

There are a number of reasons to BJP`s predicted surprise result - CM Raghubar Das`s loss of credibility, and JMM chief Hemant Soren`s "saffron clad" comment and tribal and OBC cocktail.

Dec 22, 2019, 08:55 AM IST