PM Modi lauds all MPs who voted in favour of Triple Talaq Bill

There were 99 votes in favour of the Triple Talaq Bill in Rajya Sabha and 84 MPs voted against it.


It was a historic Tuesday in Rajya Sabha with the Triple Talaq Bill, passed already by Lok Sabha, getting the nod from 99 MPs in the Upper House of Parliament. There were 84 votes against it.

Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad tabled the Bill earlier on Tuesday. Opposition to the Bill was led by Congress veteran Ghulam Nabi Azad but Prasad maintained his stoic defence of it.

The move to criminalise Triple Talaq has come quite a fair distance since being declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court in the Shayara Bano case of 2017. The NDA government in both its terms led a spirited argument in favour of punishment to anyone who indulges in the practice. Interestingly, Triple Talaq is already illegal in many Muslim countries including Saudi Arabia, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Here are the highlights from Rajya Sabha:

30 July 2019
19:49 PM

Reacting to the Rajya Sabha passing the Bill, All India Muslim Personal Law Board (AIMPLB) member Kamaal Farooqi said, "We have other legal options open. We can also go to the Supreme Court against this law. Today the Constitution is in danger."

19:28 PM

An archaic and medieval practice has finally been confined to the dustbin of history! Parliament abolishes Triple Talaq and corrects a historical wrong done to Muslim women. This is a victory of gender justice and will further equality in society. India rejoices today! I thank all parties and MPs who have supported the passage of The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019 in both Houses of Parliament. They have risen to the occasion and this step of theirs will forever be remembered in India’s history: PM Narendra Modi

18:45 PM

A total of 99 votes came in favour of the Bill and 84 votes were against it.

18:26 PM

Venkaiah Naidu lightens the mood with "ghar jaake karna kya" comment

18:16 PM

Rajya Sabha voting on amendments starts

18:15 PM

Sharad Pawar, Praful Patel are not present in Rajya Sabha.

18:07 PM

TRS abstain from voting on Triple Talaq Bill

18:05 PM

Demand to send the Triple Talaq Bill to select committee has been rejected. 100 MPs voted against and 84 were in favour of sending the Bill to select committee.

18:03 PM

Voting starts on Triple Talaq Bill in Rajya Sabha.

18:02 PM

You spoke a lot today Ghulam Nabi sa'ab. you won 400 seats in 1986. There has been 9 Lok Sabha elections after that, you did not get majority in any of them. Think why did that happen? You were 44 in 2014, 52 today. In 1986 you rose to 400, Shah Bano's case happened in 1986 & you never received a majority after that. I am giving you a food for thought: Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad in Rajya Sabha

16:32 PM

The AIADMK staged a walkout in Rajya Sabha over the Triple Talaq Bill. 

16:31 PM

Voting will take place on Triple Talaq Bill in Rajya Sabha shortly.

16:26 PM

The Bill is for protection of rights on marriage but the real motive is destruction of families. This law is politically motivated, so minorities are occupied in fighting amongst themselves. Husband and wife will hire lawyers against each other,land will be sold in order to pay lawyers. By the time jail term will be over, they'll be bankrupt. When they will come out of jail they will either commit suicide or become dacoits and thieves, that is the intention of your bill: Ghulam Nabi Azad, Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, on Triple Talaq Bill

14:43 PM

Congress Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh quits the party. He will join the Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday.

13:18 PM

The Janata Dal United staged a walkout in Rajya Sabha over the triple talaq bill. JDU leader Bashistha Narain Singh justified the move saying it was a matter of ideology for his party. "We follow the footsteps of Jayaprakash Narayan, Mahatma Gandhi and Ram Manohar Lohia," he added.

12:26 PM

Urging opposition parties to support the bill, the Law Minister says that the government had expected the Supreme Court ruling on triple talaq to put a stop on the practice. However, he added, there have been 574 cases on triple talaq since the top court order. According to the minister, even an ordinance on triple talaq could not put an end to triple talaq. Hence, a stringent law is needed that would act as a deterrence, said Ravi Shankar Prasad.

12:13 PM

"This is a matter of gender justice, dignity and equality," says Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad after tabling triple talaq bill in Rajya Sabha.

12:12 PM

Union Law Minister says the triple talaq bill should not be seen from the prism of votebank politics as it concerns the integrity of Muslim women.

12:05 PM

Triple talaq bill tabled in Rajya Sabha by Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad

11:33 AM

Following uproar by opposition on the issue of Unnao rape survivor's accident, Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi says "it should not be politicised". He added, "CBI inquiry is already underway, FIR has been registered. Government is investigating with impartiality."

11:33 AM

"We demand that Home Minister comes to the House and gives a statement. What kind of a society are we talking about, where such an incident (accident of Unnao rape case victim in Raebareli) happened with the victim?" says Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

11:32 AM

The Congress demands a statement from Union Home Minister Amit Shah in Lok Sabha over the accident of Unnao rape survivor.

Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, said, "People of India are feeling ashamed today due to Unnao incident, it's a blot on civilized society, where a minor girl was gang-raped.A truck hit victim's car and killed a witness. Victim and her lawyer are in critical condition."

10:59 AM

Samajwadi Party and Trinamool Congress MPs protest in front of Mahatma Gandhi's statue in Parliament premises, alleging attack on Unnao rape victim. They are also protesting against killing of an ex-soldier in Amethi.

10:59 AM

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, and five other party MPs give Adjournment Motion Notice in Lok Sabha over "gruesome crimes against women, a matter of great concern", in connection with the Unnao rape case.

10:36 AM

Rashtriya Janata Dal MP Manoj Jha has given Zero Hour notice in Rajya Sabha over 'special assistance to Bihar on account of flood and drought.'

10:35 AM

Congress MP Motilal Vora has given Zero Hour notice in Rajya Sabha over deduction in wages of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) scientists.

10:33 AM

The Biju Janata Dal has declared that it will support triple talaq bill in Rajya Sabha. The same was confirmed by party's floor leader in Rajya Sabha to news agency ANI.

10:33 AM

Congress party issues whip to its Rajya Sabha MPs to be present in the House.

10:32 AM

All India Trinamool Congress issues whip to its Rajya Sabha MPs to be present in the House today and following two days.