Karnataka urban civic polls 2018 live updates: Congress maintains lead, BJP concedes defeat

Elections were scheduled to be held in 105 civic bodies. But they were not held in three of them due to flooding in the Kodagu district.

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Monday, September 3, 2018 - 17:12
Representational image

The counting of votes is set to begin in 102 urban local bodies in Karnataka. The polls were held on August 31.

The results are awaited for the civic polls to 29 city municipalities, 53 town municipalities and 23 town panchayats and in 135 wards of three city corporations.

Follow the live updates here:

3 September 2018, 17:12 PM

"City voters normally vote for the BJP, but with the outcome of this result, now even city voters have shown full support for the coalition government led by Congress and JDS," says Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Karnataka local body elections results.

3 September 2018, 16:27 PM

We have succeeded. JDS and Congress will go together to keep BJP at a distance, says former prime minister HD Deve Gowda on Karnataka local body election 2018.

3 September 2018, 15:14 PM

Eight people were injured in an acid attack on the victory procession of winning Congress candidate Inayatullah Khan in Tumkur.

3 September 2018, 13:21 PM

Congress is not lagging behind. Neck-to-neck fight is there and if you combine secular votes, they are the most. These elections are based on minor issues and local candidates and these results don't hold much significance, says Mallikarjun Kharge

3 September 2018, 12:02 PM

3 September 2018, 11:56 AM

Results declared on 2267 out of total 2664 seats in 102 urban local bodies where polls took place on August 31. Congress wins 846, BJP wins 788, JD(S) wins 307, and independent candidates win 277 seats.

3 September 2018, 10:44 AM

Results declared on 1412 out of total 2664 seats in 102 urban local bodies where polls took place on August 31. Congress wins 560, BJP wins 499, JD(S) wins 178, and independent candidates win 150 seats.

3 September 2018, 10:13 AM

Here are the results of 869 wards out of 2709 wards: Congress wins 326, BJP 302 and JD(S) 101

3 September 2018, 10:12 AM

JD(S) has won all 23 wards in Holenarasipura Town municipality

3 September 2018, 10:06 AM

All 17 wards have been won by Independent candidates in Belgaum's Konnur Purasabha

3 September 2018, 10:04 AM

The Congress and the BJP are leading on eight seats each in 29 city municipalities. The JD(S), on the other hand, is ahead on three seats.

3 September 2018, 10:02 AM

Congress's Renuka Putran wins from Haveri City Municipal Council Ward number 24

3 September 2018, 09:49 AM

Congress is leading on 17 seats in town municipalities while the JD(S) is ahead on 8 and BJP on 11

3 September 2018, 09:48 AM

 Congress is leading on 31, BJP on 29, JD(S) on 13 and Others on 10, out of the 105 ULBs

3 September 2018, 09:46 AM

Out of 105 ULBs, Congress is leading on 24 while BJP is ahead on 28, JDS on 14 and Others on seven

3 September 2018, 09:41 AM

BJP wins by one vote in ward number 2 in Bidar's Hallikeda

3 September 2018, 08:39 AM

Counting underway at Alanda Town Municipal Council in Kalaburagi for 102 urban local bodies polls

3 September 2018, 08:22 AM

The counting of votes begins for 102 urban local bodies polls in Karnataka

3 September 2018, 08:21 AM

3 September 2018, 08:21 AM

The civic election was earlier scheduled to be held in 105 Urban Local Bodies, but polls in three of them - Somwarpet, Virajpet and Kushalnagar - had to be postponed due to heavy rains and flash floods in Kodagu district.