Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis: Well done, but they are still 15 matches away from breaking world record!

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis achieved yet another feat as a pair when they won their 29th consecutive match.

Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis: Well done, but they are still 15 matches away from breaking world record!

Sydney: Soon after Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis won their semi-final match in the Sydney International, which was their 29th consecutive win, there was a lot of buzz as to how had they become the only pair to have won so many matches in a row in women's doubles.

But, as a matter of fact, the Indo-Swiss pair is now on second position in the list of pairs who have won most consecutive matches in women's doubles.


Back in 1990, the dynamic duo of Jana Novotna and Helena Sukova won a whopping 44 matches in a row.

The 'SanTina' pair's fighting 4-6, 6-3, 10-8 win over Yaroslava Shevedova and Raluca Olaru in the semis of Sydney International was their 29th consecutive win. It means, they still have a long way to go!


The semi-final today was a closely fought encounter that went on for an hour and 31 minutes.

The two teams traded three breaks each but the Olaru-Shvedova pair broke their opponents for the fourth time to clinch the set by 6-4 margin.


Down by a set, Sania-Martina pair came back strongly break the opposition's serve twice and also won a whopping 76 percent of points on their first serve as they clinched the set 6-3.

In the super tie-break, both pair did well to hold their service points but Olaru-Shvedova pair had a double fault at a crucial stage which turned the match decisively in favour of Sania-Martina.

With titles at the Apia International Sydney and the Australian Open, the pair could take their winning tally to 36 matches in a row, after which they will still need 9 more wins to break the incredible world record set over two decades ago.


Considering their red hot form, there is nothing impossible.

Since the beginning of 2015, Mirza and Hingis have won 10 WTA doubles titles together — Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and WTA Finals in 2015, and last week’s Brisbane International.