Disqualified MLAs

SC judge recuses himself from hearing the case of 17 disqualified Karnataka MLAs

The 17 MLAs were disqualified by then Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar for defying their party whips to attend the House on July 23.

Sep 17, 2019, 11:57 AM IST

Yeddyurappa safe, for now

The uncertainty over Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa`s continuance seems to have ended with the 16 rebel lawmakers agreeing to meet him later on Sunday.

May 15, 2011, 10:30 AM IST

SC quashes disqualification of 16 Karnataka MLAs

In a major blow to the ruling
BJP in Karnataka, the Supreme Court today quashed Assembly
Speaker`s decision to disqualify 16 MLAs ahead of the no
confidence motion last year which had ensured survival of
the Yeddyurappa government.

May 13, 2011, 18:59 PM IST

In BJP or not: Hearing on disqualified MLAs gathers momentum

Did the five disqualified MLAs elected as independents join the ruling BJP or not? This was the crux of the argument during the final hearing on the petitions filed by them challenging the Speaker`s order.

Jan 17, 2011, 21:50 PM IST

Karnataka HC adjourns disqualified MLAs` case to January 17

Karnataka High Court on Monday adjourned to January 17 the hearing on the petitions of five
independent MLAs challenging their disqualification from the
Assembly under the anti-defection law in October last year.

Jan 10, 2011, 19:07 PM IST