News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 prominent winners and losers

TRS is in a clear lead and all set to gain a majority in the state.

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 prominent winners and losers

Telangana seems to be a clear victory for KC Rao as the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is now leading with 90 seats.

The alliance formed by the opposition, which included parties like Congress, Telegu Desam Party (TDP), is now with 21 seats, as per the latest trends. 

Akbaruddin Owaisi from All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) was declared the winning candidate from Chandrayangutta seat, news agency ANI reported. 

Thanneeru Harish Rao and Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) of TRS are leading from Siddipet and Gajwel seat respectively. 

On the other hand, BJP's Shahejadi Sayyad, Naini Narotham Reddy and Akula Vijaya are trailing from Chandrayangutta, Siddipet and Gajwel respectively. 

TRS is looking to form the government with a majority in the state. 

This is the second elections for Telangana which was formed in June 2, 2014. Previous elections in Telangana were held on 20th April 2014, after its separation from Andhra Pradesh. .