News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Telangana Assembly elections 2018

Voters show exit door to Assembly election Exit polls: All predictions way off the mark

All exit poll results announced last week for the just-concluded Assembly elections turned out to be way off the predictions. 

Dec 12, 2018, 17:22 PM IST

TRS chief K Chandrashekar Rao to take oath as Telangana Chief Minister on Thursday

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) supremo and state caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao will swear-in as the Chief Minister of Telangana on Thursday. The party swept the Telangana Assembly elections 2018, bagging 88 out of the 119 Assembly seats.

Dec 12, 2018, 10:23 AM IST

Congress wins Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan Assembly elections, single largest in Madhya Pradesh; TRS sweeps Telangana; MNF takes Mizoram

The most thrilling and intense battle of the day was fought in Madhya Pradesh, where both the Congress as well as the BJP were locked in a tough and nail-biting contest.

Dec 11, 2018, 22:14 PM IST

Rahul Gandhi says Congress's win reveals people have no trust in PM Modi

Rahul said that the verdict was an indication of the people to the Prime Minister that he has not been able to deliver the promises that he made. 

Dec 11, 2018, 20:02 PM IST

Telangana has rejected Rahul Gandhi, time for him to learn humility: Asaduddin Owaisi

Asaduddin Owaisi slammed Rahul Gandhi for previously calling his AIMIM as the 'C Team' of BJP.

Dec 11, 2018, 17:27 PM IST

List of leading and trailing Telangana ministers

Soon after the vote count began at 8 am, it became clear that Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party will sweep back to power with almost three-fourths majority. 

Dec 11, 2018, 15:43 PM IST

Telangana assembly elections 2018: Congress renews 'EVMs tampered' charge, but only in Telangana

Uttam Kumar Reddy of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee says he suspects EVMs were tampered with.

Dec 11, 2018, 12:44 PM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 prominent winners and losers

TRS is in a clear lead and all set to gain a majority in the state.

Dec 11, 2018, 11:02 AM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 results: TRS sweeps Telangana, KCR says 'ready for crucial role in national politics'

Speaking after the remarkable performance in the elections, KCR told mediapersons that he was now ready to play an active role in Indian politics.

Dec 11, 2018, 08:22 AM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 results: Counting of votes begins

The counting of votes for Telangana Assembly elections 2018 began at 8 am on Tuesday, deciding the fate of as many as 1,821 candidates. Most of the exit polls for Telangana, where voter turnout was recorded at 73.20%, have suggested that incumbent Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao will retain power. The results will be declared on

Dec 11, 2018, 08:03 AM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 results: TRS trumps Prajakutami

K Chandrasekhar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is headed towards securing absolute majority in Assembly elections 2018. As per latest trends, the TRS is leading on 90 seats while the Congress-led Prajakutami is far behind with leads on 15 seats. The BJP and others are leading on four and five seats respectively.

Dec 11, 2018, 07:53 AM IST

Assembly Election Results 2018: Decision on CM faces in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, MP today

After hours of a neck-and-neck fight, the Congress is inching towards the halfway mark against the BJP in Madhya Pradesh.

Dec 11, 2018, 07:38 AM IST

Live Streaming of Telangana Assembly election results 2018 on Zee News: latest updates

TRS is leading in Telangana but the opposition's alliance is expected to give a tough fight to KC Rao's party. 

Dec 11, 2018, 07:02 AM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 results today, counting begins at 8 am

Most exit polls have suggested that incumbent Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao will retain power.

Dec 11, 2018, 06:00 AM IST

Stage set for Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram Assembly elections 2018 results; counting of votes to begin at 8 am

While BJP leaders have sought to de-link the state polls from the next year's Lok Sabha elections, the Congress has asserted that the mandate would send a "clear message" against the Narendra Modi government.

Dec 11, 2018, 05:43 AM IST

Went on motorcycle to show how peaceful Hyderabad is: Asaduddin Owaisi

Owaisi went on his bike to meet Telangana Chief Minister. 

Dec 10, 2018, 20:28 PM IST

Full list of Telangana MLAs

Check the full list of MLAs in Telangana.

Dec 10, 2018, 17:44 PM IST

K Chandrasekhar Rao: The leader who spearheaded the Telangana statehood movement

When the then UPA government at the Centre announced the creation of a separate state of Telangana, the TRS supremo was the undisputed choice to become the first chief minister of the state.

Dec 10, 2018, 15:47 PM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018: A look at TRS, TDP, Congress heavyweights

The 119-member Telangana Assembly was dissolved in September, eight months before its term was to end, on the recommendation of the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led government paving way for early elections.

Dec 10, 2018, 14:43 PM IST

Telangana Assembly elections 2018: A look at probable CM candidates

Political bigwigs like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, former Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu and TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao spearheaded the campaign.

Dec 10, 2018, 14:05 PM IST