NSUI wins top post at DU, accuses HRD Ministry, RSS of manipulating poll result

The chief contest was between BJP-backed ABVP and Congress-backed NSUI

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 00:40
NSUI's Rocky Tuseed

Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections results 2017 is out. Congres-backed National Students Union of India (NSUI) bagged president and vice president posts, while BJP-backed Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) secured the secretary and joint secretary posts.

NSUI candidates Rocky Tuseed won the post of president, while Kunal Sehrawat won Vice President post.

ABVP's Mahamedhaa Nagar bagged the secretary post.

The counting of votes started at 8:30 am. The polls were held on September 12. Nearly 43% students, out of the total voter base of 1.3 lakh students, cast their votes.

Here's how the event unfolded:


13 September 2017, 18:14 PM

Congress President Sonia Gandhi meets NSUI winning candidates and members at her official New Delhi's 10 Janpath residence. 

13 September 2017, 17:02 PM

Gurmehar Kaur, daughter of a Kashmir martyr, who had launched a social media campaign against the ABVP, wishes NSUI on poll victory: 

"Congratulations to every DU student, you've reclaimed your university back. You've proved violence and hooliganism will not be tolerated!", she tweeted. 

13 September 2017, 16:50 PM

NSUI supporters raise slogans outside vote counting centre, shouts - "We want recounting", "We want justice".

13 September 2017, 16:48 PM

NSUI candidates to meet Congress President Sonia Gandhi at 5.30 pm today. 

NSUI candidates has bagged the two posts of President and Vice-President of the Delhi University Students' Union. 

13 September 2017, 16:27 PM

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi wishes NSUI on DUSU poll win.

"Congratulations NSUI on a stellar performance & Pres win in #DUSU! Thank DU students for reposing faith in Congress ideology," Gandhi tweeted. 

13 September 2017, 16:17 PM

NSUI decides to go to High Court against the revised result.

"We don't accept this revised result. We won 3 seats and not 2. This is manipulated by BJP. We are going to High court," NSUI tweeted. 

13 September 2017, 16:16 PM

After the university declared ABVP's bagging the post of the joint secretary, NSUI demands a recount as they claim that their candidate was ahead the entire time.


13 September 2017, 16:15 PM

NSUI wins President and Vice-President as ABVP comes out victorious on the secretary post. 

13 September 2017, 16:12 PM

NSUI tweets: 

In the name of recounting @HRDMinistry and RSS pressuring DU administration to manipulate the results, we'll not let this happen. #NSUIwinsDU. 

We'll definitely fight for transparency in DUSU results & not let RSS to take over the student's mandate.

13 September 2017, 15:09 PM

National Students Union of India (NSUI) makes a comeback by winning president and vice president posts in DUDU polls 2017.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) wrests secretary and joint secretary posts.

13 September 2017, 14:05 PM

NSUI supporters celebrate the victory on campus. 

13 September 2017, 13:58 PM

NSUI candidates Rocky Tuseed won the post of president, while Kunal Sehrawat won Vice President post.

ABVP's Mahamedhaa Nagar bags the secretary post.

13 September 2017, 13:47 PM

NSUI has won the President's post while ABVP wins secretary post.

Results to be declared soon for Vice-President and Joint-Secretary post

13 September 2017, 13:45 PM

Ahead of declaration of final DUSU election 2017 results, heavy police deployment in campus

13 September 2017, 13:41 PM

Lasy five elections were dominated by ABVP.

13 September 2017, 13:39 PM

Once again, NSUI established lead in all four seats

13 September 2017, 13:33 PM

NSUI presidential candidate Rocky Tuseed is leading while ABVP's Rajat Choudhary is close behind, says sources

13 September 2017, 13:25 PM

Close contest between ABVP and NSUI.

NSUI leading in Vice-President and Secretary post

ABVP back leading in President & Joint Secretary posts postitons

13 September 2017, 13:20 PM

After 12 rounds of counting, NSUI leads in all four seats. ABVP trailing behind

13 September 2017, 13:10 PM

Eleventh round of counting is currently underway.

13 September 2017, 13:08 PM

NSUI Candidates are:

Rocky Tuseed for President post

Kunal Sehrawat for Vice President

Minakshi Meena for Secretary

Avinash Yadav for Joint Secretary

13 September 2017, 12:47 PM

Over 50% counting of votes over. 

NSUI takes lead in DUSU Elections in three crucial posts

13 September 2017, 12:43 PM

Tables turn: In the latest developments, NSUI has taken a lead the posts of President, Vice-President and Joint Secretary.

13 September 2017, 12:41 PM

Counting of votes likely to be over within an hour.

Final DUSU Election 2017 results to be declared by 2 pm.


13 September 2017, 12:40 PM

Ninth round of counting on.

Congress-backed NSUI trailing behind BJP-backed ABVP.

13 September 2017, 12:35 PM

ABVP fielded the following candidates:

Rajat Choudhary: President

Paarth Rana: Vice-president

Mahamedhaa Nagar: Secretary

Uma Shankar: Joint Secretary

13 September 2017, 12:33 PM

Eight rounds of voting over.

ABVP maintains steady lead on all four positions: President, Vice-President, Secretary and Joint-secretary

13 September 2017, 12:20 PM

NSUI candidates trailing behind ABVP. All India Students Association's (AISA's) vote share has gone down. 

13 September 2017, 12:14 PM

Seventh round of counting over. ABVP still leading in all four posts.

13 September 2017, 12:13 PM

According to sources, NOTA (None of the above) option has received a fair share of votes, surprising many, said sources

13 September 2017, 12:01 PM

Seventh round of counting is underway. 

13 September 2017, 11:55 AM

Six rounds of counting over.

Latest updates:

1. ABVP leading in all six seats

2. Fight is close between ABVP and NSUI for president's position. ABVP candidate is leading by over a 1000 votes said sources.

13 September 2017, 11:47 AM

A total of 16 rounds of counting will take place. As of now, four rounds of counting are over. 

The vote counting started with EVMs of DU's south campus.


13 September 2017, 11:46 AM

ABVP has taken an early lead in the counting of votes on all four posts. However, there's no official confirmation.

13 September 2017, 11:42 AM

Counting of votes began around 8 am in the Community Hall, Police Lines, Kingsway Camp, according to the office of Chief Election Officer.

13 September 2017, 11:41 AM

Currently, DUSU is led by ABVP's Amit Tanwar as president, Priyanka Chabri as vice president, Ankit Sangwan as secretary and NSUIs Mohit Sangwan as joint secretary. 

University of Delhi introduced NOTA in last elections and a large number of voters preferred it. DUSU polls were held on the basis of the constitution of DUSU and Lygdoh Committee recommendations accepted by the Supreme Court of India.