95 constituencies vote in phase 2 of Lok Sabha election: Know the parties which currently hold the seats

While the election in Vellore has been cancelled following an EC order over allegations of excess use of money power, election in one seat in Tripura which was scheduled to be held on April 19 has been postponed to April 23 over law and order concerns.

95 constituencies vote in phase 2 of Lok Sabha election: Know the parties which currently hold the seats

Ninety five parliamentary constituencies across 11 states and 1 Union territory are voting in the second phase of Lok Sabha election on April 18. Polling is being held in 37 seats in Tamil Nadu, 14 seats in Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra, eight in Uttar Pradesh, five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, three each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, two in Jammu and Kashmir and one seat each in Manipur and Puducherry.

While the election in Vellore has been cancelled following an EC order over allegations of excessive use of money power, election in one seat in Tripura which was scheduled to be held on April 18 has been postponed to April 23 over law and order concerns. Authorities in Vellore had seized over Rs 10 crore cash from the premises of an associate of a DMK leader recently. Elections will also be held in 35 assembly constituencies in Odisha. 

Major parties which currently hold these 97* seats (including Vellore and Tripura) are Bharatiya Janata Party and the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) with 27 and 37 seats each. The election will be crucial for the AIADMK as this is the first Lok Sabha poll that is happening after the death of former party chief J Jayalalithaa.

Of the seats going to polls, the BJP is in power in eight seats of Uttar Pradesh, six seats in Karnataka, 4 seats in Maharashtra, 2 seats of Assam, 3 seats of Chhattisgarh, one seat each in Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.  

The Congress is in power in 12 of these 97* seats. These include 6 seats in Karnataka, 2 each in Assam, Maharashtra and one each in Bihar and Manipur. In Bihar's Kishanganj seat, Mohammad Asrarul Haque who won the last election died in December 2018.

Here is the full list of parties which currently hold the seats and the names of the sitting MPs:

1 Assam AUTONOMOUS DISTRICT Congress Biren Singh
2 Assam KARIMGANJ AIUDF Radheshyam
3 Assam MANGALDOI BJP Ramen Deka
4 Assam NOWGONG BJP Rajen Gohain
5 Assam SILCHAR Congress Sushmita Dev
6 Bihar BANKA RJD JayPrakash Narayan Yadav
7 Bihar BHAGALPUR RJD ShriShailesh (BuloMandal) Kumar
8 Bihar KATIHAR NCP Tariq Anwar
9 Bihar KISHANGANJ** Congress Mohammad Asrarul Haque (died in December 2018)
10 Bihar PURNIA JDU Santosh Kumar
11 Chhattisgarh KANKER BJP Vikram Usendi
12 Chhattisgarh MAHASAMUND BJP Chandu Lal Sahu
13 Chhattisgarh RAJNANDGAON BJP Abhishek Singh
14 Jammu and Kashmir SRINAGAR NC Farooq Abdullah
15 Jammu and Kashmir UDHAMPUR BJP Dr. Jitendra Singh
17 Karnataka BANGALORE NORTH BJP DV Sadananda Gowda
18 Karnataka BANGALORE RURAL Congress D. K. Suresh
19 Karnataka CHAMARAJANAGAR Congress R Dhruvanarayana
20 Karnataka CHIKBALLAPUR Congress M. Veerappa Moily
21 Karnataka CHITRADURGA Congress BN Chandrappa
22 Karnataka DAKSHINA KANNADA BJP Nalin Kumar Kateel
23 Karnataka HASSAN JD(S) HD Deve Gowda
24 Karnataka KOLAR Congress K.H. Muniyappa
25 Karnataka MANDYA* JD(S) LR Shivaramegowda
26 Karnataka MYSORE BJP Pratap Simha
27 Karnataka TUMKUR Congress S. P. Muddahanumegowda
28 Karnataka UDUPI CHIKMAGALUR BJP Shobha Karandlaje
29 Karnataka BANGALORE SOUTH** BJP Ananth Kumar (died) November 2018
30 Maharashtra AKOLA BJP Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre
31 Maharashtra AMRAVATI Shiv Sena Anandrao Adsul
32 Maharashtra BEED BJP Pritam Gopinathrao Munde
33 Maharashtra BULDHANA Shiv Sena Prataprao Jadhav
34 Maharashtra HINGOLI Congress Rajeev Satav
35 Maharashtra LATUR BJP Dr. Sunil Baliram Gaikwad
36 Maharashtra NANDED Congress Ashok Shankarrao Chavan
37 Maharashtra OSMANABAD Shiv Sena Ravindra Vishwanath Gaikwad
38 Maharashtra PARBHANI Shiv Sena Sanjay Haribhau Jadhav
39 Maharashtra SOLAPUR BJP Sharad Bansode
40 Odisha ASKA** BJD Ladu Kishore Swain (died in February 2019)
41 Odisha BARGARH BJD Dr.Prabhas Kumar Singh
42 Odisha BOLANGIR BJD Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo
43 Odisha KANDHAMAL* BJD Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh
44 Odisha SUNDARGARH BJP Jual Oram
45 Tamil Nadu ARAKKONAM AIADMK G. Hari
46 Tamil Nadu ARANI AIADMK V. Elumalai
47 Tamil Nadu CHENNAI CENTRAL AIADMK S. R. Vijayakumar
48 Tamil Nadu CHENNAI NORTH AIADMK T. G. Venkatesh Babu
49 Tamil Nadu CHENNAI SOUTH AIADMK Dr. J. Jayavardhan
50 Tamil Nadu CHIDAMBARAM AIADMK M Chandrakasi
51 Tamil Nadu COIMBATORE AIADMK P. Nagarajan
52 Tamil Nadu CUDDALORE AIADMK A. Arunmozhithevan
53 Tamil Nadu DHARMAPURI PMK Anbumani Ramadoss
54 Tamil Nadu DINDIGUL AIADMK M. Udhayakumar
55 Tamil Nadu ERODE AIADMK Selvakumara Chinnayan
57 Tamil Nadu KANCHEEPURAM AIADMK K. Maragatham
58 Tamil Nadu KANNIYAKUMARI BJP Pon Radhakrishnan
59 Tamil Nadu KARUR AIADMK M. Thambidurai
60 Tamil Nadu KRISHNAGIRI AIADMK K. Ashok Kumar
61 Tamil Nadu MADURAI AIADMK R. Gopalkrishnan
62 Tamil Nadu MAYILADUTURAI AIADMK R. K. Bharathi Mohan
64 Tamil Nadu NAMAKKAL AIADMK P. R. Sundaram
65 Tamil Nadu NILGIRIS AIADMK Gopalakrishnan Chinnaraj
66 Tamil Nadu PERAMBALUR AIADMK R. P. Marutharajaa
67 Tamil Nadu POLLACHI AIADMK C. Mahendran
68 Tamil Nadu RAMANATHAPURAM AIADMK A. Anwhar Raajhaa
69 Tamil Nadu SALEM AIADMK V. Pannerselvam
70 Tamil Nadu SIVAGANGA AIADMK P.R. Senthilnathan
71 Tamil Nadu SRIPERUMBUDUR AIADMK Krishnan Narayanasamy Ramachandran
72 Tamil Nadu TENKASI AIADMK M. Vasanthi
73 Tamil Nadu THANJAVUR AIADMK K. Parasuraman
74 Tamil Nadu THENI AIADMK R.Parthipan
75 Tamil Nadu TIRUVALLUR AIADMK P. Venugopal
76 Tamil Nadu THOOTHUKUDI AIADMK Jayasingh Thiyagaraj Natterjee
78 Tamil Nadu TIRUNELVELI AIADMK K. R. P. Prabakaran
79 Tamil Nadu TIRUPPUR AIADMK V. Sathyabama
80 Tamil Nadu TIRUVANNAMALAI AIADMK C. Annadurai
81 Tamil Nadu VELLORE (Voting cancelled over allegations of excess use of money power) AIADMK B. Senguttuvan
82 Tamil Nadu VILLUPURAM** AIADMK S. Rajendran (died in February 2019)
83 Tamil Nadu VIRUDHUNAGAR AIADMK T Radhakrishnan
84 Tripura TRIPURA EAST (postponed to April 23 over law and order concerns) CPI(M) Jitendra Choudhury
85 Manipur INNER MANIPUR Congress Thokchom Meinya
86 Uttar Pradesh AGRA BJP Dr. Ram Shankar Katheria
87 Uttar Pradesh ALIGARH BJP Satish Kumar Gautam
88 Uttar Pradesh AMROHA BJP Kanwar Singh Tanwar
89 Uttar Pradesh BULANDSHAHR BJP Bhola Singh
90 Uttar Pradesh FATEHPUR SIKRI BJP Choudhary Babulal
91 Uttar Pradesh HATHRAS BJP Rajesh Kumar Diwakar
92 Uttar Pradesh MATHURA BJP Hema Malini
93 Uttar Pradesh NAGINA BJP Yashwant Singh
94 West Bengal DARJEELING BJP S. S. Ahluwalia
95 West Bengal JALPAIGURI TMC Bijoy Chandra Barman
96 West Bengal RAIGANJ CPI(M) Mohammed Salim
97 Puducherry PUDUCHERRY AINRC R. Radhakrishnan

* Seats where bypolls were held

Among the key contestants in the fray are Union ministers Jual Oram, Sadananda Gowda and Pon Radhakrishnan, former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, Congress leaders Verappa Moily and Raj Babbar, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah, BJP's Hema Malini and DMK's Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and Kanimozhi.

The Lok Sabha polls are being held in seven-phases for 542 seats (barring Vellore) on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19, and counting will be on May 23.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.