Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency

In the 2014 election, the Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency was won by Telugu Desam Party candidate Malla Reddy with a margin of 28,371 votes. 

Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency

Malkajgiri is one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana. The first phase of voting in 17 constituencies of Telangana ended on April 11 with 60.57 per cent of the electorate exercising their franchise. The fate of 12 candidates contesting from Malkajgiri will be decided on May 23 when counting of votes takes place and the result is declared. The constituency was created after the delimitation exercise in 2008.

Malkajgiri has seven assembly segments namely Medchal, Malkajgiri, Qutbullapur, Kukatpally, Uppal, LB Nagar and Secunderabad Cantonment.

It the 2009 election, the first after the creation of the constituency, Congress candidate Sarvey Sathyanarayana won the seat with a margin of 93326 votes. While Sarvey Sathyanarayana bagged 388,368 votes, his nearest competitor Bheemsen T bagged 295,042 votes.

In the 2014 election, the seat was won by Telugu Desam Party candidate Malla Reddy with a margin of 28,371 votes. While Malla Reddy bagged 523356 votes, Telangana Rashtra Samithi candidate Hanumanth Rao Mynampally came close by winning 494,965 votes.

In the 2019 election, the key battle is between Telangana Rashtra Samithi's Rajashekar Reddy Marri, Telugu Desam Party's Vijay Kumar Goud Mouthala, Congress's Anumula Revanth Reddy and Bharatiya Janata Party's Ramchander Rao Naraparaju.

In Malkajgiri, 51.05 per cent or 1624859 voters exercised their franchise in the last election. Of the 30 contestants who were in the fray, 28 of them lost their deposits.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.