Pune Lok Sabha Constituency

Anil Shirole is the incumbent MP from this constituency.

Pune Lok Sabha Constituency

Pune Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the 48 constituencies of Maharashtra. 

The Pune Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 34) was formed prior to the 1951 elections.

It comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments. 

The Assembly Constituencies that fall in Pune parliamentary constituency are Vadgaon Sheri, Shivajinagar, Kothrud, Parvati, Pune Cantonment (SC) and Kasba Peth.

Pune is the eighth largest city in the country and the second largest city in the state. 

Pune Lok Sabha Constituency of Maharashtra: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Maharashtra Lok Sabha constituencies: All you need to know

The election here will be conducted on April 23, 2019, as per the Phase III schedule announced by the ECI.

Anil Shirole of the BJP is the incumbent MP from this constituency.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Gulabrao got 569825 votes and defeated Dr Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam of the INC.

The prestigious seat will see a direct electoral fight between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. 

However, the BJP has denied ticket to Shirole in the upcoming Lok Sabha election and nominated Girish Bapat from Pune. The INC has nominated Mohan Joshi from this seat.

Maharashtra is the second largest state in the country in terms of Lok Sabha seats. Uttar Pradesh has 80 seats and Maharashtra 48. So, it is important for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well as the Opposition to win more and more seats in the state. 

As per the seat-sharing formula, the BJP and its ally Shiv Sena are contesting on 25 and 23 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. 

After several months of deliberations, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have formed an alliance in Maharashtra for the general elections 2019. As per the deal, Congress will contest on 26 seats, whereas the NCP will contest on 22 seats. The two senior partners will part with two seats each for their smaller allies.

Some key smaller parties like Swabhimani Shetkari Sangathana, Bahujan Vikash Aghadi, Peasant and Workers Party, factions of Republican group leaders, like Jogendra Kawade and RG Gavai, independent leader Ravi Rana have also joined hands with the opposition ranks. 

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the alliance of the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha together registered a victory on 42 seats in Maharashtra. The Congress bagged twos eats, while the NCP four. 

Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. 

The results would be declared on May 23.