54 Jammu and Kashmir police personnel awarded President's medals

Fifty-four Jammu and Kashmir police personnel got President's Police Medal for gallantry, distinguished and meritorious services.

Jammu: Fifty-four Jammu and Kashmir police personnel got President's Police Medal for gallantry, distinguished and meritorious services.

Officers honoured with President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service are IGP Police Technical Services, Hemant Kumar Lohia and DIG Central Kashmir Range, Ghulam Hassan Bhat, it was announced by Government of India on Monday.

President's Police Medal for Gallantry has been awarded to SSPs Sheikh Zulfikar Azad, Mohammad Aslam, Imtiyaz Hussain Mir, Abdul Waheed Shah, Abdul Qayoom, Shoket Hussain, Imtiyaz Ismail Parray, Maqsood-ul-Zaman Baba, Abdul Jabar and Fayaz Hussain. Dy SSPs, Ashiq Hussain Tak, Irshad Hussain Rather, Rayaz Iqbal Tantray, Syed Javeed Ahmed, Zulafkar Ahmed Shaheen, Mumtaz Ali, Tanveer Ahmed Jeelani and Mohammad Aftab Awan have also been awarded the President's police medal.

Inspector Arshad Hussain, Sub-Inspectors, Manzoor Ahmed and Nissar Ahmed, Head Constables, Sageer Ahmed Pathan, Vijay Bhan, Bashir Ahmed and Dilber Singh have also been awarded the President's police medal. Others include constables, Ashraf Nabi, Showkat Ahmed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Zakir Hussain Mir, Ankit Koul Mukhtar Ahmed, Ramees Ahmed Bhat, Parvaiz Ahmed Khan, Zaffar Iqbal Naik and Follower Aijaz Hussain.

The officers who have been awarded with President's police medal for meritorious service include, SSP Deepak Kumar Salathia, Deputy Director Prosecution, Nissar Hussain Drabu, SP Ghulam Nabi Khan, Additional SP, KS Jasrotia, Dy SSP, Tariq Khursheed, Kulbir Chand Handa, Mohan Lal Thakur and Riyaz Ahmed Bhat.

The other awardees include Inspector Janardan Singh Salathia, Sub-Inspectors, Romesh Kumar, Irshad Ahmed Jan and Pran Nath Koul, Assistant Sub inspector Bashir Ahmed Lone and Puran Chand Verma. Head Constables, Dayal Singh, Mohammad Shafi Mir and Balwant Singh.

Director General of Police K Rajendra Kumar has congratulated the awardees. He said the contribution of the Organisation at various fronts of policing has been recognised at national level and all ranks of the force are committed to deliver better for the Nation.

Meanwhile, Director General of Police, Prisons, SK Mishra awarded the Director General's Prison Medal to ten officers, officials of the Prisons Department on the eve of Republic Day for their consistent and outstanding performance. 

The awardees include Mohammad Mussa, Superintendent, District Jail Leh, Mohammad Iqbal Mir, Assistant Superintendent (M), Central Jail Srinagar, Irshad Ahmad Rather, Computer Assistant Prisons Directorate, Rashpal Sharma, Head Warden, District Jail Rajouri, Ram Pal Padha.

Head Warden, Central Jail Jammu KB, Mohamad Latief Ganai, SG Warden, District Jail Kupwara, Moti Ram SG Warder, Sub Jail
Reasi, Tirth Singh Parihar, SG Warden, District Jail Udhampur, Nirmal Kour, Warden, Central Jail Srinagar and Vijay Kumar
Pandita, Warden, Sub Jail Hiranagar.

While congratulating the awardees, the Director General of Police Prisons expressed hope that they will continue to work with same zeal and devotion in times to come.

He said this Award was instituted to boost the morale of the staff so that they put in more efforts to achieve the departmental objectives.

Meanwhile, 30 personnel of Jammu and Kashmir Police were awarded with Sher-i-Kashmir Police Medal for Meritorious and
Gallantry Service during the year 2015.

The medals are awarded on the eve of Republic Day every year.

Officers awarded Sher-i-Kashmir Police Medal for Meritorious Service include IGP, IRP Kashmir, Sunil Kumar, AIG (Personnel) PHQ, Tahir Sajad Bhat, Inspector CID, Jagdeep Singh and Head Constable, Mohammad Rafiq of Armed Police.

Awardees of Sher-i-Kashmir Police Medal for Gallantry are ASP, Javaid Iqbal, DYSP, Zaheer Abas, Mohammad Nawaz Khandey,
Sandeep Bhat, Sajad Sarvar, Tanweer Ahmed Jeelani, Mumtaz Ali, Qazi Shamas-ul-Muzaffar Amin, Sheikh Ishfaq Alam and Furkan

Inspectors, Tasleem Ahmed Khan, Firdous Ahmed Gabroo, Mohammad Ayob Wagay, Ghulam Jeelani Masoodi and Masrat Ahmed

Sub-Inspectors, Nazir Ahmed Kuchey and Mudasir Hussain Zaroo.

Head Constables, Mohammad latif and Nasar Ahmed, Constables, Liakat Ali, Javaid Ahmed, Firdous Ahmed, Lokaish Padam, Mohammad Iqbal, Mushtaq Ahmed Bhat and follower Shabir Ahmed Sohil.