News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Hardik Pandya's 5 sixes: Ball-by-ball description of record 39-run over in T20 match

Pandya was extremely close to achieving the rare feat of hitting six sixes in an over.

Hardik Pandya's 5 sixes: Ball-by-ball description of record 39-run over in T20 match

New Delhi: Rising Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya set the Group C match of Syed Mushtaq Ali domestic Twenty20 tournament on fire, as he tonked five sixes in an over that produced 39 runs – maximum in T20 history.

Playing for Baroda, Pandya punished Delhi medium-pacer Akash Sudan for five sixes and a boundary in one over.


Here is a break up of what transpired in that record over:

1st Ball: Pandya hit the first ball over long-on for half a dozen!

2nd Ball: Sudan's second ball went for four byes.

3rd Ball: Sudan tried to deceive the batsman with a slower ball, but Pandya picked it early and dispatched it over cow corner for another maximum!

4th ball: The Delhi pacer was under immense pressure due to Pandya's onslaught, he ended up bowling a no-ball and the right-hander once again slapped it for a six, this time over midwicket.

5th ball: Pandya followed it with a boundary past mid-wicket.

6th ball: There was no respite for Sudan as Pandya launched his next ball over long-on for another Six!

7th ball: The last ball of Sudan's over was pitched short, and second later, it sailed over long-off for another maximum!

The previous record for the highest runs scored in an over was 38, set by New Zealand's Scott Styris in July 2012.

Delhi still managed to win the match by 5 wickets, but Pandya gave his team a real chance with his big-hitting skills in the penultimate over.

With five sixes, Pandya missed out on a exclusive list, featuring only Sir Garfield Sobers (in the year 1968), Ravi Shastri (1985), Herschelle Gibbs (2007), Yuvraj Singh (2007) and Alex Hales (2015) for hitting six sixes in a single over.

Pandya, who became a hero for Mumbai Indians under the mentorship of Ricky Ponting in Indian Premier League 2015, has been included in India's T20 squad for the tour to Australia.