News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox


Bypolls results 2017: BJP bags 5 out of 10 seats; PM Modi congratulates party workers for impressive performance

By-elections were held in 10 Assembly constituencies in eight states on Sunday.

Apr 13, 2017, 08:47 AM IST

President Pranab Mukherjee inaugurates Namami Brahmaputra in Assam

The festival is a tribute to Brahmaputra river which is revered as a lifeline for the people of Assam.

Mar 31, 2017, 15:35 PM IST

President Pranab Mukherjee to inaugurate `Namami Brahmaputra` in Assam today

`Namami Brahmaputra` will take place across 21 districts of Assam from March 31 to April 4.

Mar 31, 2017, 09:22 AM IST

Bypoll results: BJP wins MP's Shahdol and Nepanagar, Arunachal Pradesh's Anjaw - Here's who bagged what

The Lok Sabha seats are Lakhimpur in Assam, Shahdol in Madhya Pradesh and Cooch Behar and Tamluk Parliamentary seats in West Bengal.

Nov 22, 2016, 10:09 AM IST

Assam by-polls: 30 percent electorate exercise franchise till noon

Polling started for the by-polls to Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency and Baithalangso Assembly constituency in Assam on Saturday amid tight security.

Nov 19, 2016, 10:27 AM IST

Dibrugarh University MEE Result ( declared. Check for Assam MEE 2016 result

The Dibrugarh University on Wednesday (July 27, 2016) declared Medical Entrance Exam Results 2016 (Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery).

Jul 27, 2016, 17:43 PM IST

Assam Congress chief Anjan Dutta's cremation today

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president Anjan Dutta, who passed away Thursday morning at the AIIMS hospital in New Delhi following cardiac failure, will be cremated on Friday.

Jun 17, 2016, 08:08 AM IST