Karnataka MLAs' disquaification

Supreme Court upholds disqualification of Karnataka MLAs; Key observations

The Speaker’s scope of inquiry with respect to acceptance or rejection of a resignation tendered by a member of the legislature is limited to examine whether such a resignation was tendered voluntarily or genuinely.

Nov 13, 2019, 19:34 PM IST

14 rebel Karnataka Congress-JDS MLAs move SC, challenge Speaker's decision to disqualify them

Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar had on Sunday disqualified 14 rebel MLAs - 11 from the Congress and three from the JD(S) - under the anti-defection law till the end of the current term of the House in 2023.

Aug 01, 2019, 17:58 PM IST