Nagaland assembly

Nagaland elections 2018: Neiphiu Rio, BJP ally and former CM, has already won unopposed with two weeks to go for polling

This is the second time Rio is being elected to the Nagaland Assembly without a challenger.

Feb 13, 2018, 07:33 AM IST

227 nomination papers found valid for Nagaland polls: Official

Elections to the 60-member Nagaland Assembly are slated to be held on February 27.

Feb 09, 2018, 00:37 AM IST

Nagaland Assembly passes State GST Bill

The Nagaland Assembly on Saturday joined the rest of the country in passing the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill.

May 27, 2017, 16:38 PM IST

Shurhozelie Liezietsu sworn in as Nagaland CM

 Shurhozelie Liezietsu was on Wednesday sworn in as the Chief Minister of Nagaland by Governor P B Acharya here.

Feb 22, 2017, 12:54 PM IST

Shurhozelie Liezietsu elected new Nagaland leader

Naga People`s Front leader Shurhozelie Liezietsu was on Monday elected the new legislature party leader of the ruling Democratic Alliance.

Feb 20, 2017, 14:11 PM IST

Congress weighing legal options before action against Nagaland MLAs

Even as the Budget Session of the Nagaland Assembly is on, the Congress leadership in the capital is all set to take action "very soon" against all its eight MLAs who have joined the state`s Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) coalition government of which the BJP is a part.

Aug 01, 2015, 13:34 PM IST

Congress MLA elected as new deputy speaker of Nagaland Assembly

Congress MLA Imtikumzuk was today elected unopposed as the new Deputy Speaker of Nagaland Assembly amid a walk out by BJP legislators.

Jul 21, 2015, 14:42 PM IST

Nagaland Assembly passes vote-on-account

The Nagaland Assembly on Thursday passed the vote-on-account of Rs 3868.16 crore to defray expenses of the state government for the first four months of 2015-16.

Mar 19, 2015, 14:45 PM IST

Nagaland Assembly adjourned sine die

Nagalan Chief Minister TR Zeliang on Tuesday laid in the state Assembly a copy of the Annual Administrative Report for 2009-10 of the Nagaland State Mineral Development Corporation Limited and the Nagaland Information Commission for 2013-14.

Dec 16, 2014, 14:15 PM IST

Nagaland assembly to have one-day winter session

The Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) will have a one-day Winter Session on Tuesday.

Dec 15, 2014, 15:25 PM IST

Chotisuh Sazo elected Nagaland House Speaker

Chotisuh Sazo was Thursday elected as the Speaker of the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Mar 14, 2013, 14:37 PM IST

NPCC to act as `strong opposition` in Assembly

The Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) having lost the election battle for the third consecutive term Wednesday said it would act as `strong opposition party` in the 12th state Assembly.

Mar 06, 2013, 13:05 PM IST

Women fail to enter Nagaland Assembly once again

Nagaland, where the first elections were held in 1964, has not seen any women representative in the House as of date.

Feb 28, 2013, 17:49 PM IST

20 seats to witness straight contest in Nagaland polls

One third of the Assembly constituencies in Nagaland, which is going to the polls on February 23, will witness a straight contest.

Feb 20, 2013, 14:18 PM IST

Nagaland MLAs to meet central leaders on Naga issue

To impress upon central leaders to expedite the ongoing Naga peace talks for an early settlement of the protracted political conflict, all 60 members of the Nagaland assembly will proceed to New Delhi in August.

Jul 26, 2012, 19:15 PM IST