Baramati Lok Sabha constituency

Supriya Sadanand Sule of NCP is the incumbent MP from this constituency.

Baramati Lok Sabha constituency

Baramati Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 48 constituencies of the Maharashtra state. It was formed prior to the 1977 elections.

The Baramati Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 35) comprises of six legislative assembly segments. 

The  Assembly Constituencies that fall in Baramati parliamentary constituency are Daund, Indapur, Baramati, Purandar, Bhor and Khadakwasala.

The election here will be conducted on April 23, 2019, as per the Phase III schedule announced by the ECI.

Baramati Lok Sabha constituency of Maharashtra: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Maharashtra Lok Sabha constituencies: All you need to know

Supriya Sadanand Sule of NCP is the incumbent MP from this constituency.

In the last 2014 polls, Sule secured 521562 votes and defeated Mahadev Jagannath Jankar of RSP.

Supriya Sule is the daughter of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar and is seeking a third consecutive term.

For the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the Shiv Sena has fielded Kanchan Rahul Kul against NCP leader Sule.  

In Maharashtra, the main electoral contest is between the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance and the Congress-NCP alliance. 

Maharashtra is the second largest state in the country in terms of Lok Sabha seats. Uttar Pradesh has 80 seats and Maharashtra 48. So, it is important for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well as the Opposition to win more and more seats in the state. 

As per the seat-sharing formula, the BJP and its ally Shiv Sena are contesting on 25 and 23 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. 

After several months of deliberations, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have formed an alliance in Maharashtra for the general elections 2019. As per the deal, Congress will contest on 26 seats, whereas the NCP will contest on 22 seats. The two senior partners will part with two seats each for their smaller allies.

Some key smaller parties like Swabhimani Shetkari Sangathana, Bahujan Vikash Aghadi, Peasant and Workers Party, factions of Republican group leaders, like Jogendra Kawade and RG Gavai, independent leader Ravi Rana have also joined hands with the opposition ranks. 

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the alliance of the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha together registered a victory on 42 seats in Maharashtra. The Congress bagged twos eats, while the NCP four. 

Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. 

The results would be declared on May 23.