News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Assembly polls 2018

MNF will not leave NDA, NEDA: Mizoram CM Zoramthanga

"There is no intention at this juncture to leave the NDA and NEDA", he told reporters at Raj Bhavan in Aizwal after taking oath as the new chief minister of the state.

Dec 15, 2018, 16:58 PM IST

Rahul Gandhi holds hectic parleys with top Congress leaders to select next Chhattisgarh CM

Congress president Rahul Gandhi held hectic parleys with top party leaders on Saturday to decide on the top post for Chhattisgarh.

Dec 15, 2018, 16:22 PM IST

Rajasthan violence: Sachin Pilot asks Congress workers to maintain peace, says full faith in Rahul, Sonia Gandhi

The supporters of Pilot became increasingly agitated demanding selection of Pilot as Rajasthan CM and blocked a key road in Karuali and damaged a highway bus in Dausa.

Dec 13, 2018, 18:30 PM IST

MNF bounces back to power in Mizoram, Cong loses last bastion in Northeast

MNF president Zoramthanga accompanied by top party leaders met Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan at the Raj Bhavan here in the evening and staked claim to form the government. 

Dec 12, 2018, 00:38 AM IST

Congress ends BJP's 15-year-rule in Chhattisgarh; Raman Singh resigns

The Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) of former chief minister Ajit Jogi had won two seats and was leading in three seats. Jogi's ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won one seat and was leading in one. 

Dec 12, 2018, 00:30 AM IST

Congress set to wrest Rajasthan, legislature party meets Wednesday to pick CM

The ruling BJP bagged 73 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party won six, Bhartiya Tribal Party won two, the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party three, the CPI(M) two and the Rashtriya Lok Dal one.

Dec 12, 2018, 00:26 AM IST

Zee News editor-in-chief Sudhir Choudhary's take on Assembly election results 2018

Zee News editor-in-chief Sudhir Chaudhary attempted to decode factors which led to BJP's defeat in three crucial Hindi speaking states and what the outcome of assembly elections meant for a 'resurgent' Congress party under Rahul Gandhi's leadership, in his popular TV show DNA.

Dec 12, 2018, 00:12 AM IST

Madhya Pradesh Governor refuses audience to Congress, says will wait for final official results

In a letter to the MP Governor, Congress state president Kamal Nath stated that the Congress party has "emerged as the single largest party with majority support".

Dec 12, 2018, 00:06 AM IST

List of leading and trailing Telangana ministers

Soon after the vote count began at 8 am, it became clear that Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party will sweep back to power with almost three-fourths majority. 

Dec 11, 2018, 15:43 PM IST

BJP should heed to assembly election results, it's time to introspect: Shiv Sena

As counting of votes continued, Shiv Sena on Tuesday said the outcome of the elections in the five states is a clear message to the BJP and there is a need for the ruling coalition to introspect.

Dec 11, 2018, 14:04 PM IST

Semifinal proves BJP is nowhere: West Bengal Mamata Banerjee on election result trends

The Trinamool Congress chief, who is currently in Delhi and holding meetings with opposition leaders, also said the trends indicated the outcome of the 2019 general elections.

Dec 11, 2018, 13:16 PM IST

Madhya Pradesh assembly elections 2018: 9 ministers in CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan's cabinet trailing

Minister Deepak Joshi was behind by 4,219 votes in Hatpipliya seat in Dewas district, while Vijay Shah was also trailing by a margin of 1,304 votes in Harsud seat in Khandwa.

Dec 11, 2018, 12:58 PM IST

Polls were fought on state governments' performance: Rajnath Singh

Talking to reporters outside Parliament, he also offered his congratulations to all the winning parties and candidates.

Dec 11, 2018, 12:56 PM IST

JCC leader Ajit Jogi says he's happy that BJP is losing Chhattisgarh assembly elections

The JCC chief told reporters that the people of the state wanted to oust the Raman Singh-led government, which has been in office for 15 years.

Dec 11, 2018, 12:28 PM IST

TRS will form next government in Telangana, will stand by KCR, says AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi

Owaisi discounted a scenario where his party would back out if BJP goes with TRS and said KCR was also confident of victory.

Dec 10, 2018, 19:22 PM IST

Lal Thanhawla: Mizoram chief minister aims for third consecutive term

In 2013, Thanhawla won by a margin of 734 votes defeating his nearest MNF rival Lalramzauva, who got 4,985 in a four-cornered contest.

Dec 10, 2018, 19:08 PM IST

Re-polling in Rajasthan's Karanpur constituency, 86.92% voter turnout recorded

Re-polling was held at a booth in Karanpur Assembly constituency of Rajasthan's Sri Ganganagar district on Monday.

Dec 10, 2018, 18:52 PM IST

Vasundhara Raje: Rajasthan's first woman chief minister who broke many stereotypes

Born on March 8, 1953, Raje is the 13th chief minister of Rajasthan and is contesting from the Jhalrapatan Assembly constituency against Congress leader Manvendra Singh. 

Dec 10, 2018, 18:38 PM IST

BJP is going to form government with majority, says Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje

The BJP has claimed that it would get a majority in the state, irrespective of what the exit polls predicted. 

Dec 09, 2018, 21:24 PM IST