News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Chhattisgarh Assembly elections 2018

Akhilesh Yadav, Mayawati, Mamata Banerjee skip Opposition's 'show of strength' at swearing-in ceremonies

Apart from Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, the key leaders expected at the events are Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, DMK president MK Stalin, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav and NCP president Sharad Pawar.

Dec 17, 2018, 10:26 AM IST

Chhattisgarh CM-designate Bhupesh Baghel to take oath on Monday

Many national leaders, including Congress president Rahul Gandhi and chief ministers of several states, are expected to be present in the swearing-in ceremony.

Dec 16, 2018, 17:50 PM IST

Bhupesh Baghel named Chhattisgarh Chief Minister, Congress ends suspense after 5 days

Apart from Baghel, TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu and Charan Das Mahant were the top contenders for the post.

Dec 16, 2018, 13:38 PM IST

Who will be the new Chhattisgarh CM? Congress likely to make the announcement today

Congress president Rahul Gandhi had on Saturday held various meetings and discussions with the four CM aspirants - TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu, Bhupesh Baghel and Charan Das Mahant - at his residence in Delhi.

Dec 16, 2018, 09:44 AM IST

Voters show exit door to Assembly election Exit polls: All predictions way off the mark

All exit poll results announced last week for the just-concluded Assembly elections turned out to be way off the predictions. 

Dec 12, 2018, 17:22 PM IST

Kamal Nath in Madhya Pradesh, Ashok Gehlot in Rajasthan and Bhupesh Baghel in Chhattisgarh likely to be next CMs

Congress chief in Madhya Pradesh, Kamal Nath spearheaded the party's campaign in the state along with party's campaign committee head Jyotiraditya Scindia. 

Dec 12, 2018, 14:38 PM IST

Congress wins Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan Assembly elections, single largest in Madhya Pradesh; TRS sweeps Telangana; MNF takes Mizoram

The most thrilling and intense battle of the day was fought in Madhya Pradesh, where both the Congress as well as the BJP were locked in a tough and nail-biting contest.

Dec 11, 2018, 22:14 PM IST

Rahul Gandhi says Congress's win reveals people have no trust in PM Modi

Rahul said that the verdict was an indication of the people to the Prime Minister that he has not been able to deliver the promises that he made. 

Dec 11, 2018, 20:02 PM IST

Factors behind Congress comeback and BJP loss in Assembly elections 2018

Here’s a look at some of the factors that might have played a key role in the determination of the Assembly elections 2018 results.

Dec 11, 2018, 19:30 PM IST

Chhattisgarh assembly elections 2018: Raman Singh takes responsibility for BJP's defeat

Three-time Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh on Tuesday conceded defeat and said he takes full responsibility for the outcome of the Chhattisgarh assembly elections 2018.

Dec 11, 2018, 17:43 PM IST

Assembly Election Results 2018: Decision on CM faces in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, MP today

After hours of a neck-and-neck fight, the Congress is inching towards the halfway mark against the BJP in Madhya Pradesh.

Dec 11, 2018, 07:38 AM IST

Live Streaming of Chhattisgarh Assembly election results 2018 on Zee News: latest updates

Congress is leading in Chhattisgarh, Chief Minister Raman Singh is trailing from his constituency Rajnandgaon.

Dec 11, 2018, 07:00 AM IST

Stage set for Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram Assembly elections 2018 results; counting of votes to begin at 8 am

While BJP leaders have sought to de-link the state polls from the next year's Lok Sabha elections, the Congress has asserted that the mandate would send a "clear message" against the Narendra Modi government.

Dec 11, 2018, 05:43 AM IST

Full list of Chhattisgarh MLAs

Check the full list of MLAs in Chhattisgarh.

Dec 10, 2018, 17:16 PM IST

Chhattisgarh Assembly elections 2018: A look at Bharatiya Janata Party BJP, Congress, Janata Congress Chhattisgarh JCC heavyweights

 The exit polls have predicted a neck-and-neck battle in the state.

Dec 10, 2018, 12:00 PM IST

Chhattisgarh Assembly elections 2018: A look at possible CM candidates

Voting in Chhattisgarh was held in two phases, on November 12 and November 20, and recorded a voter turnout of 76.35%, despite a call for poll boycott.

Dec 10, 2018, 11:05 AM IST

What Exit Polls predict for Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram

The results of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram Assembly elections 2018 is set to be declared on December 11.

Dec 07, 2018, 19:54 PM IST

Zee News Maha Exit Poll: BJP and Cong neck-and-neck in MP, TRS may retain Telangana

Election Exit Poll Live: The Assembly elections in five states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram – concluded on Friday evening.

Dec 07, 2018, 17:08 PM IST

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018: Key constituencies

In the Assembly elections in 2018, Chhattisgarh is witnessing a three-way contest between the BJP, Congress and Mayawati-Ajit Jogi alliance.

Dec 07, 2018, 11:17 AM IST

71.93% voter turnout recorded in 2nd phase of Chhattisgarh elections

A turnout of 71.93 per cent was recorded till 6 PM in the second phase of assembly elections in Chhattisgarh on Tuesday and polling remained incident-free, the Election Commission said.

Nov 20, 2018, 21:20 PM IST