Jharkhand Assembly poll

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: List of winners in 2009, 2014 polls in the seats voting in Phase 1

Voting will take place in Chatra (SC), Gumla (ST), Bishunpur (ST), Lohardaga (ST), Manika (ST), Latehar (SC), Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur (SC), Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur seats in the first phase. The key candidates in the first phase of election are Chamra Linda, Jharkhand Mukti Morch (JMM) MLA, from Bishunpur, Radhakrishna Kishore of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) from Chhatarpur and Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Bhanu Pratap Sahi from Bhawanathpur.

Nov 28, 2019, 12:47 PM IST

LJP names 5 candidates for Jharkhand Assembly election

LJP has fielded Rekha Chaubey from Nagar Bhavanathpur, Anand Pratap Singh from Husainabad, Shashikant Kumar from Chhatarpur (SC), Shashi Ranjan Dhar Dubey from Vishrampur and Ramdev Prasad Yadav from Panki assembly constituencies.

Nov 12, 2019, 20:56 PM IST

Crisis hits BJP as allies decide to contest independently, Congress releases third list of candidates; top news from Jharkhand

The 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will vote in five phases starting from November 30 to December 20. Counting of votes will take place on December 23.

Nov 12, 2019, 14:21 PM IST

End dynastic politics: Modi tells Jharkhand voters

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday appealed to the Jharkhand electorate to oust dynastic politics and said people in the country are fed up of it.

Nov 29, 2014, 14:51 PM IST

Security forces destroy 40kg IED planted under road in Jharkhand

A major tragedy was averted on Saturday when security forces defused a 40kg improvised explosive device (IED) cleverly hidden along a key road in Khunti district of Jharkhand.

Nov 15, 2014, 15:04 PM IST

More forces to be sent to J&K, Jharkhand if needed: Rajnath Singh

The Centre on Thursday offered to send additional paramilitary forces to Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand to ensure peaceful polling in the coming Assembly Elections if required.

Nov 13, 2014, 15:03 PM IST

AJSU party, LJP to remain NDA allies in Jharkhand: BJP

The BJP on Wednesday made it clear that even if it secured majority in the forthcoming Assembly polls, AJSU party and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) would remain NDA allies in Jharkhand.

Nov 12, 2014, 15:38 PM IST

Jharkhand: 29 FIRs against parties for Model Code violation

A total of 29 FIRs have been filed against different parties in connection for violation of Election Model Code of Conduct ahead of the five-phase Assembly Elections in Jharkhand.

Nov 08, 2014, 20:37 PM IST