Karnataka election results 2018

Congress North Karnataka president SR Patil resigns over Assembly election results

Days after the high-pitched power struggle drama ended, Congress North Karnataka working president SR Patil tendered his resignation on Sunday. 

Jun 03, 2018, 13:01 PM IST

Polling in Jayanagar Assembly Constituency on June 11

The constituency has over 2.03 lakh voters, and 19 candidates. 

May 25, 2018, 15:07 PM IST

Congress MLA KR Ramesh elected Karnataka Speaker unopposed after BJP withdraws nomination

Ramesh Kumar is a six-time MLA and has been the Speaker of Karnataka Assembly twice during the HD Deve Gowda and JH Patel governments (1994-99). 

May 25, 2018, 12:52 PM IST

HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JDS government wins trust vote in Karnataka Assembly

The HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JDS alliance government won the crucial trust vote on Friday.

May 25, 2018, 12:18 PM IST

Before trust vote, G Parameshwara says yet to finalise if HD Kumaraswamy will be Karnataka CM for full 5-year term

While Parameshwara has said that the modalities are yet to be finalised, Kumaraswamy had said even before the swearing-in ceremony that his party was not looking to work out any power-sharing formula

May 25, 2018, 07:35 AM IST

It is so fragile! Karnataka politics shifts mode from 'Game of Thrones' to 'House of Cards'

Just a few days earlier, Rahul Gandhi had said the S in Janata Dal-S stood for "Sangh Parivar". Therefore, make no mistake: What we have here is a marriage of convenience.

May 24, 2018, 17:13 PM IST

Ahead of oath ceremony, crucial JDS-Congress meeting on government formation

While HD Kumaraswamy will take oath as Karnataka CM on Wednesday, reports suggest Congress could push for two deputy CMs.

May 22, 2018, 06:40 AM IST

Karnataka government formation: Ahead of swearing-in, Kumaraswamy to meet Sonia Gandhi, Rahul on Monday

The three-day-old BJP government in Karnataka had collapsed on Saturday, minutes before the scheduled trust vote, with CM Yeddyurappa resigning with defeat staring him in the face. 

May 20, 2018, 23:11 PM IST

No power-sharing formula with Congress of heading government for 30 months each in Karnataka, says Kumaraswamy

The three-day-old BJP government in Karnataka had collapsed on Saturday, minutes before the scheduled trust vote, with CM BS Yeddyurappa resigning with defeat staring him in the face. 

May 20, 2018, 21:43 PM IST

Karnataka government formation: There ought to be 'give and take' equation between Congress-JDS, says Mallikarjun Kharge

The three-day-old BJP government in Karnataka collapsed on Saturday, minutes before the scheduled trust vote, with CM BS Yeddyurappa resigning.

May 20, 2018, 17:15 PM IST

There ought to be a 'give and take' equation: Congress on alliance with JDS in Karnataka

Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said there needs to be a give and take equation between the alliance partners.

May 20, 2018, 13:17 PM IST

Karnataka government formation: 20 JDS, 13 Congress MLAs likely to be ministers, G Parameshwara may be Deputy CM, say sources

The swearing-in ceremony was likely to take place on Monday earlier but was deferred to May 23 as May 21 is the death anniversary of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi.

May 20, 2018, 10:15 AM IST

Hall of short fame: Yeddyurappa not alone to serve as CM for just a few days

In 2007 also, Yeddyurappa had served as the state's CM for eight days -- September 12-19.

May 20, 2018, 08:20 AM IST

New lease of life to 'Third Front' as Congress and JDS defeat BJP in battle for Karnataka

The outcome in Karnataka has given a glimpse to the regional parties and the Congress on what could happen if a combined opposition takes on the BJP. 

May 20, 2018, 07:25 AM IST

Congress workers celebrate victory in Karnataka: In pics

Congress workers on Monday celebrated after BS Yeddyurappa resigned as Karnataka Chief Minister ahead of his trust vote in the state assembly in Bengaluru.

May 20, 2018, 00:02 AM IST

Those who misled PM on Karnataka must be ousted: Shatrughan Sinha

In a series of tweets, the Patna Sahib MP also demanded "all those who misled Hon'ble PM, particularly those who declared victory in his presence, must be held responsible and shown the door".

May 19, 2018, 22:53 PM IST

Parties attack BJP, say it should take lessons from Karnataka episode

Soon after B S Yeddyurappa resigned as the chief minister, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi launched a strong attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi, alleging that "he is corruption" and his claims of fighting it were "a blatant lie".

May 19, 2018, 22:47 PM IST

Kumaraswamy invites Mamata to oath-taking ceremony

The TMC chief congratulated Gowda, Kumaraswamy and the Congress after Yeddyurappa resigned as chief minister of the southern state without facing the floor test.

May 19, 2018, 22:24 PM IST

BJP blasts Congress' Sanjay Nirupam for comparing Karnataka Governor to dogs

Sanjay Nirupam had questioned Governor Vajubhai Vala's recent decisions to invite BS Yeddyurappa to form the government in Karnataka and to appoint KG Bopaiah as Protem Speaker.

May 19, 2018, 21:32 PM IST

Congress distances itself from Sanjay Nirupam's remark, says party has regard for worst enemies

Attacking Governor Vajubhai Vala, Sanjay Nirupam had compared his 'loyalty towards BJP' with that of dogs.

May 19, 2018, 21:32 PM IST