Karnataka rebel MLAs

Karnataka Cabinet Expansion: 10 rebel MLAs to take oath as ministers today

Yediyurappa had earlier said that all 13 legislators who had dejected from Congress-JDS would be sworn in, however, the dynamics appear to have changed within the BJP in the state. 

Feb 06, 2020, 07:54 AM IST

Supreme Court upholds disqualification of Karnataka MLAs; Key observations

The Speaker’s scope of inquiry with respect to acceptance or rejection of a resignation tendered by a member of the legislature is limited to examine whether such a resignation was tendered voluntarily or genuinely.

Nov 13, 2019, 19:34 PM IST

Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa welcomes SC verdict on 17 Karnataka rebel MLAs, says 'we will win all seats'

The court also ruled that the Speaker's decision to bar the 17 rebel MLAs from contesting elections till 2023 was invalid. "We are upholding the order of the Speaker," said Justice Ramana while reading out the judgment. "Since we are deciding disqualification, resignation is not needed to be gone into. As such there is no doubt that disqualification has nothing to do with resignation," the court said.

Nov 13, 2019, 14:02 PM IST

SC upholds Karnataka Speaker's decision to disqualify 17 rebel MLAs, allows them to contest by-elections

The Election Commission has scheduled the bypoll for the 15 Karnataka Assembly constituencies on December 5, after postponing them once. The Karnataka bypolls were earlier slated for October 21, but it was postponed to December 5 as the case was pending in the top court.

Nov 13, 2019, 11:08 AM IST

Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy issues whip to JDS MLAs, rebels ahead of trust vote

Kumaraswamy warned that if MLAs do not attend the House and vote against the party whip even after attending the session on the day of the trust vote, strict action will be initiated against them. 

Jul 17, 2019, 23:27 PM IST

Karnataka crisis: Ready for trust vote, fix time, CM HD Kumaraswamy tells Speaker

Kumaraswamy had on Thursday refused to quit as chief minister in light of the recent political developments and said that the ruling coalition is stable.

Jul 12, 2019, 14:34 PM IST

Karnataka crisis: SC orders status quo, to hear rebel MLAs' plea on July 16

The order was passed by a three-member bench of the apex court, headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi. 

Jul 12, 2019, 13:44 PM IST