News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Meghalaya assembly elections 2018

NPP chief Conrad Sangma to be sworn in as Meghalaya CM today

Sangma met the Governor on Sunday evening and staked claim to form the government with the support of 34 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly.

Mar 06, 2018, 09:14 AM IST

Congress stakes claim to form govt in Meghalaya, party leaders meet Governor

The ruling Congress emerged as the single largest party in Meghalaya and won 21 seats. 

Mar 04, 2018, 00:27 AM IST

Sun is red when it sets, turns saffron when it rises: Narendra Modi taunts Left after Tripura victory

Prime Minister Narendra Modi revelled in his party's victory in the Tripura Assembly elections, and launched a scathing attack on the politics of the Left. He said the Northeast would show the way to the rest of the country when it comes to development.

Mar 03, 2018, 18:54 PM IST

This is not BJP's golden age, there is more to come: BJP president Amit Shah after victories in Tripura, Nagaland

Only if the BJP has won in West Bengal, Kerala and Odisha would he call it a golden age, Shah said.

Mar 03, 2018, 16:44 PM IST

Historic victory in Tripura is an ideological one, it's a win for democracy over brute force, says PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday called the 'historic victory' in Tripura an ideological win and said that democracy had won over brute force.

Mar 03, 2018, 16:10 PM IST

Hung house in Meghalaya: BJP, Congress race to form government

Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has won from both Ampati and Songsak constituencies

Mar 03, 2018, 15:29 PM IST

Reactions on 3 north east states' elections - Tripura, Nagaland, Meghalaya: Who said what

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally surged ahead of the Left Front in Tripura establishing a lead in 41 seats in the 59-seat elections. It is a close fight in Meghalaya with the Congress ahead in 20 seats and NPP is leading in 19 seats. In Nagaland, the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) was ahead in 28 constituencies while the BJP and its ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leading in 26 seats.

Mar 03, 2018, 15:13 PM IST

NPP to form govt in Meghalaya with help of others: Conrad Sangma

Elections to 60-member Meghalaya Assembly were held on February 27.

Mar 03, 2018, 14:51 PM IST

BJP hints post-poll alliance in Meghalaya

It is up to the national leaders to decide, but there can be a possibility of a post-poll alliance, Kohli said.

Mar 03, 2018, 13:40 PM IST

Meghalaya CM wins from both seats

Sangma, who is the chief minister since 2010, retained Ampati seat defeating his nearest BJP rival Bakul Ch Hajong by over 6,000 votes.

Mar 03, 2018, 12:51 PM IST

Will go for non-Congress government in Meghalaya: Ram Madhav

Madhav conceded that the CPI-M gave a good fight in Tripura but people voted for change.

Mar 03, 2018, 12:28 PM IST

Meghalaya PWD minister wins from East Shillong constituency

Polling for 59 seats of the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly was held on February 27.

Mar 03, 2018, 12:12 PM IST

Congress rushes top leaders to Meghalaya to explore govt formation

Polling for 59 seats of the 60-member Assembly was held on February 27.

Mar 03, 2018, 11:56 AM IST

Assembly election results will change political landscape of northeast: Kiren Rijiju

Counting of votes for Assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland is underway. With the trends showing a decent performance by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies in Tripura and Nagaland, Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju on Saturday said that the results will “change the political landscape of northeast”.

Mar 03, 2018, 10:49 AM IST

Congress ahead in 17 Meghalaya seats

Polling for 59 seats of the 60-member Assembly was held on February 27.

Mar 03, 2018, 09:31 AM IST

Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Assembly election results 2018: As they happened

Riding the crest of a 'Modi wave', the BJP on Saturday demolished the communist citadel of Tripura, winning a two-third majority with ally IPFT.

Mar 03, 2018, 07:58 AM IST

Meghalaya Assembly election results 2018: As it happened

The National People`s Party (NPP) has bagged 19 seats in Meghalaya Assembly elections. 

Mar 03, 2018, 07:38 AM IST

Meghalaya Assembly elections 2018: Hattrick for Congress or win for BJP?

The polling was for the 60-seat Meghalaya Assembly was held on February 27. Of the 60 Assembly seats in Meghalaya, as many as 55 seats in the state are reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

Mar 03, 2018, 07:21 AM IST

Meghalaya Assembly elections 2018: Here's the full list of winning candidates

Meghalaya has witnessed a massive voter turnout of 84.86% in the elections, which is lesser than the turnout in 2013 Assembly elections, which stood at 86.82%.

Mar 03, 2018, 07:12 AM IST

2018 elections: Counting day in Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya; BJP eyes major gains

Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura will get new Assemblies today after the election results are declared later in the day. Initial trends show a close contest between the Left Front and BJP-led alliance in Tripura. In Nagaland BJP and its allies have already taken a slender lead and in Meghalaya Congress and BJP are in a neck and neck fight.

Mar 02, 2018, 23:26 PM IST