News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Odisha Legislative Assembly

BJD releases list of 18 candidates for Odisha Legislative Assembly election

BJD leaders Maheshwar Mohanty will contest from the Puri seat and Chandrasarthi Behera from the Cuttack Sadar seat.

Mar 29, 2019, 18:38 PM IST

Congress leader Lulu Mohapatra's family members join BJP

The daughter and brother of late Congress leader Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra on Saturday formally joined the BJP in presence of senior leaders of the saffron party.

Oct 14, 2017, 17:47 PM IST

Congress to boycott Monsoon Session of Odisha Assembly

The Congress on Thursday announced its decision to boycott the remaining days of the ongoing Monsoon Session of Odisha Assembly as a mark of protest over the manner in which Bills are being passed in the House.

Aug 28, 2015, 02:05 AM IST

Congress MLAs in Odisha to decide their leader on June 10

The newly-elected Congress MLAs will decide their leader at a meeting on June 10 in the presence of AICC leader Ajay Maken.

Jun 06, 2014, 04:32 AM IST

Odisha Legislative Assembly issues notification for RS by-poll

Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) on Monday issued notification for the by-election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat remaining vacant after AU Singhdeo failed to join the Upper House of the Parliament.

Jun 02, 2014, 21:20 PM IST

IAC asks BJD to convene special session to pass Lokayukta Bill

With tenure of 14th Odisha Legislative Assembly left a few months, asked the state government to convene a special session to pass the Lokayukta Bill.

Dec 25, 2013, 20:08 PM IST

Ruckus in Odisha Assembly over crime against women

Odisha Assembly was stalled Thursday amid frequent adjournments as opposition Congress members stormed into well accusing the state government of failing to control rising crime against women.

Mar 21, 2013, 19:13 PM IST