Jind by-election result 2019: BJP's Krishan Middha defeats JJP rival Digvijay Singh Chautala

In the fray are Congress heavyweight Randeep Surjewala, Middha’s son Krishna Middha who is contesting on BJP ticket, INLD’s Umed Singh Redhu and JJP’s Digvijay Chautala.

Jind by-election result 2019: BJP's Krishan Middha defeats JJP rival Digvijay Singh Chautala Representational image

The result for high stake Jind Assembly by-election will be announced on Thursday. The counting began at the city’s Arjun Stadium with the contest being between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the newly launched Jannayak Janata Party (JJP). A clear election trend will start emerging by mid-day.

The bypoll, necessitated due to the death of INLD legislator Hari Chan Middha, has been dubbed as a prestige battle for the four major parties.

Catch live streaming of Jind by-election results on Zee News

-BJP's Krishan Middha defeats nearest rival Digvijay Singh Chautala of Jannayak Janata Party by 12,935 votes, elections Official. 


n the fray are Congress heavyweight Randeep Surjewala, Middha’s son Krishna Middha who is contesting on BJP ticket, INLD’s Umed Singh Redhu and JJP’s Digvijay Chautala.

Here are the live updates of Jind by-elections from the counting centre:

- BJP maintains lead of 13,579 votes after 12 rounds of counting.

- After 11 rounds of counting, the BJP is ahead of its nearest rival JJP by 15,960 votes. The Congress is a distant third.

- BJP all set to retain Jind as its lead increases to 15,878 votes after 10th round. BJP 42,724, JJP Digvijay Chautala 26,846, Congress 17,591, LSP 12,014, INLD 2,736, NOTA 310.

- BJP increases its lead after nineth round of counting. The party is ahead by 12,236 votes from its nearest rival.

- After eight rounds, the BJP is leading by 9,310 votes. BJP 32,180 votes, JJP 22,870, Congress 13,733 votes, LSP 9,210, INLD 2,485, NOTA 259.

- Counting resumes.

- Counting stopped yet again over allegations of EVM number not matching on table 4 and 5. Police lathi charge protesting workers of the opposition political parties.

- Counting has restarted in Jind. Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar thanks Jind voters for backing "vikas" (development) as his party, the BJP, maintains the lead. On the other hand, Congress leader and former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda says Jind is not a stronghold of his party as it has never won there after 2005. 

- Counting has been stopped in Jind following allegations by political parties that EVM numbers do not match.

- BJP leading by 8,997 votes after the seventh round. BJP's Krishan Midha 28,811, Congress RS Surjewala 11,547, JJP's Digvijay Chautala 19,481, LSP's Vinod Ashri 8,616.

- It's a massive lead for the BJP in Jind after six rounds. The party is now ahead with a margin of 10,106 votes. BJP's Krishan Midha 26,412, Congress' RS Surjewala 10,037, JJP's Digvijay Chautala 16,306 votes. 

- BJP is now leading by 5,737 votes after the fifth round. BJP's Krishan Midha 21,052, Congress'- RS Surjewala 8,805, JJP's Digvijay Chautala 15,315.

- BJP now leading in Jind. The party is ahead of its rivals by a margin of 2,038 votes after the fourth round. BJP's Krishan Midha 15,481 votes, Congress' RS Surjewala 7,614, JJP's Digvijay Chautala 13,441.

- BJP maintaining it will win Jind as counting from booths in its strongholds yet to begin. BJP leaders say the trends will change after a couple of rounds.

- After third round of counting in Jind, the JJP is ahead by 1876 votes. BJP's Krishan Midha - 9,350 votes, Congress' RS Surjewala 5,813, JJP's Digvijay Chautala 11,226, LSP's Pawan Ashri 2,649, INLD's Umed Redhu 1,760, NOTA 54.

- JJP is leading by 1,338 votes after the second round. BJP's Krishan Midha has got 6,554 votes, Congress 3,923. JJP 7,892, LSP 1,756 votes, INLD 1,365, NOTA 42.

- Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) leading with 3639 votes, BJP 2835 votes, Congress 2169 votes, INLD 992 votes, LSP 705 votes

- First trend from Booth No 5 (Village Talauda) shows BJP leading with 200 votes, JJP — 173 votes, Congress — 153 votes and LSP — 186 votes.

-  There will be 13 rounds of counting for Jind Assembly seat. The early trends are still awaited.

- Congress's Randeep Surjewala and Jannayak Janata Party's Digvijay Chautala present at the counting centre in Jind as counting of votes has begun.

- Counting of votes for Jind by-election begins.

- Counting is set to begin soon amid tight security.

- Elected party will have a tenure of just nine months. Polls are expected to be held again in October 2019.

- Out of the 1.7 lakh registered electorate, Jind constituency has a substantial vote of Scheduled Caste and backward classes (around 50 per cent) and Jats (around 25 per cent).

"Randeep Singh Surjewala will win the Jind bypoll with a handsome margin. Once the results are out on Thursday, a loss will trigger exodus of the ruling BJP MLAs because already resentment is brewing among several legislators and they themselves will bring down this anti-people regime,” said Haryana Congress president Ashok Tanwar.

The voting for Jind by-elections took place on January 28 and recorded nearly 76 per cent voter turnout. In the 2014 Haryana Assembly polls, Jind constituency had registered 75.91 poll percentage. Nearly 170,000 people, including 80,556 women, were eligible to vote.

The bypoll is considered a referendum on the Manohar Lal Khattar government and also a semi-final ahead of Lok Sabha elections.

Live Tv

Trending news