Amethi Lok Sabha constituency

Amethi is a Lok Sabha constituency which covers the entire Amethi district and was created in 1967. 

Amethi Lok Sabha constituency

The battle for Amethi Lok Sabha constituency in 2019 Lok Sabha election is turning out to be an interesting one. Bharatiya Janata Party's Smriti Irani and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi are in a neck and neck contest in the state with the two leaders taking turns to be in the lead in the 2019 Lok Sabha election results. Smriti is currently leading by a margin of over 18000 votes against Rahul Gandhi. Read live updates of Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha election results here.

Also Read: Smriti Irani all set to a create upset in Amethi, leads against Rahul Gandhi

Amethi had registered 54.05 per cent voter turnout in 2019, a gain of 1.61 per cent. The total number of electors in the constituency is 1741033 while the total voter turnout is 940947. While in 2014, the constituency registered 52.44 per cent voter turnout. The total number of electors in the constituency was 1668423 while the total voter's turnout was 874865.

The seat has almost always been held by the Indian National Congress, save for a half-dozen years in the late 1970s and late 1990s. Rahul Gandhi held the seat for the longest period, from 2004 to present, most recently re-elected in 2014, and the seat had also been held by his mother, father, and uncle.

The Amethi Lok Sabha Constituency has a total of five assembly segments - Tiloi, Salon,  Jagdishpur, Gauriganj and Amethi. This constituency is surrounded by Bara Banki and Faizabad in the north, Rae Bareli to the west, Sultanpur to the east and Pratapgarh to the south.

Amethi Lok Sabha constituency of Uttar Pradesh: Full list of candidates, polling dates

The election here will be conducted on May 6, 2019, as per the Phase V schedule announced by the Election Commission of India. 

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha constituencies: All you need to know

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Munda received 408,651 votes and defeated BJP candidate Smriti Irani who got 300,748 votes.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Congress president Rahul Gandhi is seeking a fourth term from the seat. He will take on Union Textile Minister Smriti Irani, who is once again contesting as a BJP candidate from the seat. 

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be held between April 11 and May 19 and the counting of votes will take on May 23. The polling is scheduled to happen in 51 Lok Sabha constituencies of seven states during the third phase. 

Live Tv

Trending news