Warangal Lok Sabha constituency

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) which succeeding in getting statehood for Telangana, made big wins on the seat.

Warangal Lok Sabha constituency

Warangal is one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana. The first phase of voting in 17 constituencies of Telangana ended on April 11 with 60.57 per cent of the electorate exercising their franchise. The fate of 17 candidates contesting from Warangal will be decided on May 23 when counting of votes takes place and the result is declared.

Warangal parliamentary constituency comprises of seven assembly segments namely Station Ghanpur (SC), Palakurthi, Parkal, Warangal West, Warangal East, Wardhannapet (SC) and Bhupalapalli.

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) which succeeded in getting statehood for Telangana, made big wins on the seat. Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Kadiyam Srihari won the seat by a margin of 392574 votes. Kadiyam Srihari bagged 661639 votes as against Congress leader Rajaiah Siricilla who won 2,69,065 votes. 

However, bypoll was necessitated on the seat in 2015 after Kadiyam Srihari resigned from the Lok Sabha following his induction into the state Cabinet. In the 2015 byelection, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) maintained its hold and Pasunuri Dayakar emerged victorious with a margin of 4,59,088 votes. While Pasunoori Dayakar bagged 6,15,403 votes, Congress leader Sarvey Sathyanarayana won 1,56,315 votes.

In the 2009 election, Congress candidate Rajaiah Siricilla had won the seat bagging 3,96,568 votes, 1,24,661 votes more than Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) leader Ramagalla Parameshwar who secured 2,71,907 votes.

In Warangal, 76.52 per cent or 11,76,653 voters exercised their franchise in the 2014 election. Of the 12 contestants who were in the fray, 10 of them lost their deposits.

In the 2019 election, Congress has fielded Dommati Sambaiah , Telugu Desam Party has named Sambaiah Hanamkonda, Prabhakar Bokka is contesting on a Bharatiya Janata Party ticket while Dayakar Pasunoori is representing Telangana Rashtra Samithi.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.