News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Assembly bypoll

Polling underway for Assembly bypolls in Gujarat’s Jasdan, Jharkhand’s Kolebira

The bypoll in Gujarat’s Jasdan is considered to be a prestige battle between the BJP and the Congress.

Dec 20, 2018, 08:58 AM IST

Assembly bypoll result: TMC wrests Sabang from Congress, defeats nearest rival CPI(M)

Sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran won the crucial RK Nagar bypoll by a thumping margin of over 40,000 votes on Sunday.

Dec 24, 2017, 23:10 PM IST

Assembly bypoll results: Hope Congress won't claim 'moral victory', says Amit Shah

The BJP retained the Sikandra Assembly seat in a bypoll on Sunday by a margin of over 11,000 votes.

Dec 24, 2017, 22:08 PM IST

Uttar Pradesh bypoll: BJP retains Sikandra Assembly seat by margin of over 11,000 votes

BJP on Sunday wrested both the Pakke-Kessang and Likabali Assembly seats from the Congress in the by-elections in Arunachal Pradesh.

Dec 24, 2017, 20:29 PM IST

Assembly bypolls: Bawana records 45% voting, Nandyal 80%; Panaji, Valpoi see over 70%

Polling for four assembly seats in  Delhi, Goa and Andhra Pradesh ended peacefully amid tight security on Wednesday, media reports said. 

Aug 23, 2017, 22:41 PM IST

Bawana bypoll: Over 2.94 lakh electors, 8 candidates in fray

The election is scheduled to be held on August 23 and the counting will take place on August 28.


Aug 18, 2017, 16:31 PM IST

Poor turnout in Rajouri Garden by-election till 3PM

The Assembly bypoll in the Rajouri Garden constituency recorded poor turnout of 35 per cent till 3 PM on Sunday with polling stations across the west Delhi seat remaining largely desolate.

Apr 09, 2017, 19:06 PM IST

Bypolls to one Lok Sabha and 10 assembly constituencies: As it happened

Polling for by-election of Srinagar Lok Sabha seat and ten assembly constituencies in eight states is being held on Sunday. Here are all the LIVE updates:- 

Apr 09, 2017, 09:21 AM IST

Prompt action against those offering cash, gifts to voters: Election Commission

The Election Commission on Friday said prompt action would be taken against political parties or candidates who try to influence voters for the April 12 R K Nagar Assembly bypoll by offering cash or gifts.

Mar 31, 2017, 16:38 PM IST

TNCC sets up panel to work for DMK nominee in RK Nagar

Tamil Nadu Congress Committee (TNCC) on Monday constituted a 40-member panel to work for ally DMK's nominee N Marudhu Ganesh in the April 12 R K Nagar Assembly bypoll here.

Mar 27, 2017, 16:38 PM IST

I'm being harassed after announcing about RK Nagar assembly bypoll: Jayalalithaa's niece Deepa Jayakumar

Deepa Jayakumar, the niece of J Jayalalithaa, on Sunday alleged that she is being harassed to prevent her from contesting bypoll in R K Nagar Assembly seat to be held on April 12.

Mar 13, 2017, 12:25 PM IST

CPI(M),TMC announce candidates for Tripura bypoll

Agartala, with the announcement of bypoll in two Assembly constituencies in Tripura on November 19, two political parties in the state have announced their candidates.

Oct 18, 2016, 13:43 PM IST

Twenty candidates in fray for Muzaffarnagar by-polls

Twenty candidates have filed their nomination papers for the Muzaffarnagar Assembly bypolls, officials said.

Jan 28, 2016, 14:09 PM IST

Congress candidate in Kerala dedicates win to late father

Congress candidate KA Sabarinathan who on Tuesday won the Aruvikara Assembly seat by over 10,000 votes dedicated the win to his late father.

Jun 30, 2015, 12:41 PM IST

BJP leads in Madhya Pradesh bypoll

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Chander Singh Sisodia was on Tuesday leading by 4,352 votes against Congress' Subhash Sojatia in Madhya Pradesh's Garoth Assembly constituency bypoll.

Jun 30, 2015, 12:40 PM IST

Assembly bypoll: Congress' Rane to challenge Shiv Sena in Matoshree's backyard

The upcoming byelection to Bandra East Assembly constituency will be a high-profile contest with the Congress today announcing the candidature of former minister Narayan Rane who will take on the Shiv Sena nominee in the area which houses the residence of party chief Uddhav Thackeray.

Mar 22, 2015, 23:40 PM IST

Four Naxals held in Chhattisgarh for triggering blast during bypolls

Four Naxals who were allegedly involved in triggering IED blast during the Assembly bypoll for Antagarh seat held recently, were arrested in Chhattisgarh's Kanker district on Saturday , police said.

Nov 01, 2014, 14:56 PM IST

One candidate withdraws, 8 in fray for Kairana Assembly bypolls

An independent candidate for the Kairana Assembly bypoll has withdrawn from the contest, with only eight candidates now remaining in the fray.

Oct 02, 2014, 13:17 PM IST

JD(U)`s poor run in assembly bypoll in Bihar

JD(U)`s poor showing in the Lok Sabha election in Bihar was reflected in the bypoll in the five assembly seats in the state as it managed to win only one and was trailing in four.

May 16, 2014, 16:41 PM IST

Cash seized during vehicle check in Yercaud

Election officials have seized silver anklets worth about Rs eight lakh and Rs 3.74 lakh cash during a vehicle check at Valappadi, coming under Yercaud assembly constituency, where bypoll is scheduled for December 4.

Oct 29, 2013, 11:38 AM IST