Election Commission

Kiska Bengal: What will Mamata Banerjee say after the end of the campaign ban?

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee is all set to start her election campaign by visiting Cooch Behar on Wednesday after a 24-hour ban, which was imposed on her by the Election Commission (EC) on Monday.

Apr 13, 2021, 20:22 PM IST

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee stages 'dharna' in Kolkata to protest EC's 24-hour campaign ban

Banerjee, still confined to a wheelchair owing to the injuries she sustained last month, arrived at Mayo road here around 11.40 am and began her sit-in next to a Mahatma Gandhi's statue at the venue. 

Apr 13, 2021, 12:42 PM IST

Mamata Banerjee to hold dharna against EC's decision to ban her from campaigning for 24 hours

The TMC chief had called the EC move “undemocratic and unconstitutional” and vowed to protest it. The apex poll panel had on Monday barred the Trinamool Congress supremo from any kind of campaigning for 24 hours, from 8 pm on Monday to 8 pm on Tuesday.

Apr 13, 2021, 07:47 AM IST

Sushil Chandra appointed new Chief Election Commissioner, to take charge from today

Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra was on Monday appointed as the next Chief Election Commissioner, the Law Ministry said. According to a notification issued by the Legislative Department of the ministry, Chandra will assume charge on April 13.

Apr 13, 2021, 00:13 AM IST

Election Commission takes major action, 24-hour ban on Mamata Banerjee's election campaign

The Election Commission of India has banned the election campaign of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee for the assembly elections on Monday for 24 hours from 8 pm on 12 April to 8 pm on 13 April.

Apr 12, 2021, 20:40 PM IST

Election Commission imposes 24-hour campaign ban on Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee

Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has been banned from campaigning for assembly election for alleged Model Code of Conduct (MCC) violation 24 hrs till 8 pm on Apr 13 for her alleged remarks with communal overtones. 

Apr 12, 2021, 19:45 PM IST

EC orders re-polling for three assembly seats in southern Assam

Quoting the EC order, the election officials said that one of the re-pollings would be held in Indira M.V. School under Ratabari assembly constituency.

Apr 10, 2021, 16:54 PM IST

Bengal Election 2021: Polling cancelled at polling station 125 in Sitalkuchi due to violence

It has been decided by the Election Commission to cancel the voting at booth number 125 of Sitalkuchi.

Apr 10, 2021, 14:38 PM IST

Follow COVID-19 guidelines or we will ban election rallies: EC warns political parties

Amid rising coronavirus cases, the Election Commission has flagged instances of star campaigners and political leaders campaigning without masks, and warned it will not hesitate to ban rallies if COVID guidelines issued by it last year are breached.

Apr 10, 2021, 13:54 PM IST

Suvendu Adhikari, BJP’s Nandigram candidate, gets EC notice for alleged ‘hate speech’

The Election Commission has issued a notice to Suvendu Adhikari, the BJP candidate from Nandigram in West Bengal, for alleged hate speech made by him last month. He has been asked to respond to the notice within 24 hours.

Apr 09, 2021, 12:50 PM IST

CM Mamata Banerjee has to reply to Election Commission today in case of controversial statement

Today CM Mamata Banerjee has to reply to the Election Commission in the matter of giving controversial statement in the West Bengal elections. Before the election, CM Mamata Banerjee and her party leaders were seen campaigning threateningly.

Apr 09, 2021, 10:54 AM IST

Modi does ‘Hindu-Muslim’ every day: Mamata Banerjee

The poll panel had on Wednesday issued a notice to Banerjee for violating the Model Code of Conduct, after she allegedly urged the Muslim community to vote en masse for the TMC.

Apr 09, 2021, 10:31 AM IST

Why face masks not important for election rallies? Delhi HC seeks reply from Centre, EC

The Delhi High Court on Thursday sought a response from the Centre and the Election Commission on a plea seeking to ensure that masks are worn mandatorily by everyone involved in poll campaigns during the ongoing elections in various states and union territories.

Apr 08, 2021, 12:24 PM IST

Election Commission issues notice to Mamata Banerjee over minority vote appeal

The EC notice stated that Banerjee made an appeal to voters along communal lines while campaigning in Hooghly.

Apr 07, 2021, 21:23 PM IST

EVMs found at TMC leader’s house, Election Commission suspends poll officer

An official of the Election Commission of India was suspended after he was found at the residence of a TMC leader along with EVMs and VVPATs.

Apr 06, 2021, 16:16 PM IST

Poll candidates affected by COVID-19 should not be disenfranchised: Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora

Chief Election Commissioner had addressed day one of the EC’s two-day international virtual election visitors programme for election officials from other countries.

Apr 05, 2021, 22:41 PM IST

Poll rigging: What happened on Nandigram polling day, EC explains point-by-point

The TMC supremo, Mamata Banerjee', went up against Suvendu Adhikari of the BJP from Nandigram in the second phase of the West Bengal assembly polls.

Apr 04, 2021, 13:54 PM IST

Election Commission responds to Mamata Banerjee's 'fake allegation' of rigging at a polling booth in Nandigram

In response to West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee's allegation that there was a complete breakdown of law and order during the second phase of the voting election in the state on April 1, especially at a polling booth in Nandigram, Election Commission has written given a point-by-point reply to the Chief Minister.

Apr 04, 2021, 12:59 PM IST

Bengal Election 2021: What was fake officer doing in Nandigram?

Mamata Banerjee, while raising questions on the Election Commission itself in the Bengal elections, has alleged that Amit Shah is conducting the elections.

Apr 03, 2021, 13:42 PM IST

EC bars BJP’s Himanta Biswa Sarma from campaigning for 48 hours for threatening Bodoland leader

The Election Commission has barred Assam government minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma from campaigning for 48 hours with immediate effect for allegedly making threatening remarks against Bodoland People’s Front chief Hagrama Mohilary.

Apr 03, 2021, 07:10 AM IST