Congress names another candidate for Karnataka bypolls

On Saturday, the party has six more candidates for contesting the 15 Assembly by-elections across Karnataka on December 5.

Nov 17, 2019, 20:21 PM IST

Former Congress MLA Alpesh Thakor to contest Gujarat bypoll on BJP ticket

It may be recalled that Alpesh Thakor had won the 2017 Assembly election on a Congress ticket and resigned as MLA few months ago to join the BJP. 

Sep 30, 2019, 06:37 AM IST

EC defers bypolls to 15 vacant Assembly seats in Karnataka

The Election Commission on Thursday told the Supreme Court that it will defer bypolls to the 15 vacant Karnataka Assembly seats after the apex court said that it will finally decide on the Speaker' action to disqualify the 15 MLAs of Congress and JD(S) who resigned.

Sep 26, 2019, 16:19 PM IST

Bypoll for Hamirpur, Dantewada, Pala and Bhadarghat Assembly constituencies on Monday

The bypoll in Hamirpur has been necessitated following the disqualification of sitting BJP MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel after he was convicted in a murder case.

Sep 22, 2019, 09:55 AM IST

14 nominations filed for Gurdaspur bypoll; 9 on last day

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on September 25 and the last for withdrawal of candidature is September 27.

Sep 22, 2017, 23:56 PM IST

FIR registered over 'bribery of voters' in RK Nagar bypoll: TN CEO to HC

The Madras High Court was on Wednesday informed that a FIR has already been registered by the police over the alleged bribery of voters in R K Nagar assembly segment here.

Sep 21, 2017, 19:36 PM IST

EC releases schedule for one more by-poll for UP upper house

The Election Commission on Tuesday declared that polling in one more by-election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council will be held on September 18, three days after voting to fill four vacancies for which it had declared the dates last week.

Aug 29, 2017, 23:31 PM IST

Voting begins on slow note in bypoll to Sarai Pipal Thala ward of North Delhi Municipal Corporation

Voting began on a slow note on Sunday in the bypoll to Sarai Pipal Thala ward of North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC).

May 21, 2017, 13:30 PM IST

Only 2% turnout in repoll in Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency

Only two per cent turnout was witnessed in repolling in 38 polling stations in Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency, officials said.

Apr 13, 2017, 17:52 PM IST

BJP's Sambit Patra taunts Arvind Kejriwal after AAP candidate lost deposit in Rajouri Garden by-poll - Here's what he said

Bharatiya Janata Party's Manjinder Singh Sirsa won the Delhi Assembly by-election from the Rajouri Garden constituency today.

Apr 13, 2017, 15:58 PM IST

EC defers Anantnag Lok Sabha bypoll to May 25

The Election Commission tonight deferred the Anantnag Lok Sabha bypoll to May 25, citing inputs by the Jammu and Kashmir government that law-and-order situation is not conducive.

Apr 10, 2017, 22:38 PM IST

Bypolls to one Lok Sabha and 10 assembly constituencies: As it happened

Polling for by-election of Srinagar Lok Sabha seat and ten assembly constituencies in eight states is being held on Sunday. Here are all the LIVE updates:- 

Apr 09, 2017, 09:21 AM IST

Delhi's Rajouri Garden assembly bypoll: Voting begins to elect representative for seat

Voting started at 8.00 a.m. on Sunday at 166 polling stations in Rajouri Garden assembly constituency to elect a representative for the seat.

Apr 09, 2017, 09:05 AM IST

Internet services suspended in poll-bound Kashmir districts

Authorities have suspended all internet services in the three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Gandarbal where voting is scheduled on Sunday for the parliamentary by-elections.

Apr 09, 2017, 09:02 AM IST

Fate of AAP, BJP, Cong in the balance as Rajouri Garden bypoll set to begin

The stage is set for the bypoll to Rajouri Garden assembly seat, where the fate of AAP, BJP and Congress hangs in the balance, two years after the city's political dynamics saw a radical shift.

Apr 08, 2017, 15:42 PM IST

RK Nagar bypoll: Sasikala faction says AIADMK poll symbol on website was 'unnoticed', to be removed

AIADMK's Sasikala faction on Thursday said the presence of Two Leaves symbol, frozen by the Election Commission ahead of the April 12 RK Nagar Assembly byelection, on its website was 'unnoticed' and would be removed.

Apr 06, 2017, 17:52 PM IST

Hizbul module tasked to disrupt polls in south Kashmir busted

A Hizbul Mujahideen module aiming to disrupt the forthcoming bypoll to the Jammu and Kashmir`s Anantnag parliamentary constituency was busted with seven militants arrested from Kulgam district on Monday, police said.

Mar 27, 2017, 20:02 PM IST

Sangma's son pitted against CM's wife in Tura by-poll

The National People's Party (NPP) today nominated late P A Sangma's youngest son Conrad K Sangma to contest for the May 16 by-poll in Tura parliamentary constituency.

Apr 22, 2016, 16:08 PM IST

TRS nominates Nageswara Rao for Palair seat bypoll

The ruling TRS has decided to nominate minister Tummala Nageswara Rao for the Palair Assembly constituency in Khammam district of Telangana.

Apr 22, 2016, 16:05 PM IST

Bypoll to Telangana's Palair assembly seat on May 16

The by-election to Palair assembly seat in Telangana will be held on May 16, the Election Commission said on Tuesday.

Apr 19, 2016, 22:43 PM IST