News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Lok Sabha election 1962

History Revisited: How political parties fared in 1962 Lok Sabha election

The third Lok Sabha which was constituted on 2 April 1962, continued till 3 March 1967 - albeit with several ups and downs. Jawaharlal Nehru was elected the prime minister for the third consecutive term. However, he died in 1964 and was succeeded by Lal Bahadur Shastri, who also passed away while he was serving as the PM.

Mar 08, 2019, 13:17 PM IST

INKredible India: The story of 1962 Lok Sabha election - All you need to know

Lok Sabha election 1962 saw the emergence of Swatantra Party at a time when there was some dissatisfaction within the Congress ranks even if the party itself remained absolutely dominant under Jawaharlal Nehru.

Mar 06, 2019, 10:01 AM IST