Punjab Bypolls

Counting of ballots for Punjab by-polls begins

The Congress has 78 legislators in the 117-member House.

Oct 24, 2019, 08:36 AM IST

Congress announces candidates for bypolls to 4 assembly seats in Punjab

 Balwinder Dhaliwal is Congress candidate from Phagwara, while Indu Bal has been given ticket from Mukerian. In Dakha, Congress has nominated Sandeep Sandhu, while Raminder Amla is the party's candidate from Jalalabad.

Sep 23, 2019, 17:47 PM IST

Badal terms bypolls results as vindication of SAD policies

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal today termed the results of the two Assembly bypolls in Punjab as "a vindication of the policies and performance of the SAD-BJP combine government" in the state.

Aug 25, 2014, 19:30 PM IST

Punjab bypolls: stakes high for Patiala royal family, Akalis

Stakes are high for the royal family of Patiala and the ruling Akalis as the results of the bypolls to Patiala and Talwandi Sabo Assembly seats in Punjab are to be declared on Monday.

Aug 24, 2014, 19:56 PM IST

Campaigning for Punjab bypolls ends

Campaigning for Patiala and Talwandi Sabo Assembly seats in Punjab, going to bypolls on August 21, on Tuesday ended, an official said.

Aug 19, 2014, 21:44 PM IST

SAD announces candidate from Patiala seat

Shiromani Akali Dal has named Bhagwan Dass Juneja as the candidate of SAD-BJP alliance from Patiala Assembly seat for the upcoming bypolls.

Jul 28, 2014, 01:42 AM IST

AAP announces candidates for Punjab bypolls

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday announced its candidates for bypolls to Talwandi Sabo and Patiala assembly seats in Punjab.

Jul 27, 2014, 21:01 PM IST

Sukhbir, 20 others fate to be decided on Monday

Fifteen companies of paramilitary have been deployed in the three Assembly constituencies of Punjab, bypolls for which will be held on August 3 to seal the fate of 21 candidates, including ruling SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal.

Aug 01, 2009, 20:24 PM IST