News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

UP bypolls

Yellow sari-fame poll official Reena Dwivedi breaks the internet again; this time in pink

 Reena Dwivedi became an internet sensation during the Lok Sabha election 2019 when pictures of her in a yellow sari went viral. 

Oct 21, 2019, 17:38 PM IST

BJP gears up for upcoming Uttar Pradesh bypolls

The 11 assembly constituencies going to bypolls on October 21 are Gangoh, Rampur, Manikpur, Jaidpur, Iglas, Lucknow cantonment, Govind Nagar, Jalalpur, Balha, Ghosi and Pratapgarh.

Oct 09, 2019, 16:35 PM IST

Congress announces five candidates for UP bypolls

Congress President Sonia Gandhi approved the candidates for the forthcoming bye-elections to the legislative assembly of Uttar Pradesh, a party release said.

Sep 03, 2019, 19:52 PM IST

BJP's defeat in UP bypolls a lesson for us: Yogi Adityanath after setback in Gorakhpur, Phulpur

The BJP on Wednesday lost bypolls to all three Lok Sabha seats it contested, including its bastion Gorakhpur and Phulpur in UP, besides Araria in Bihar.

Mar 15, 2018, 20:41 PM IST

Message from UP bye-elections: It is time to think of 'governance vote banks'

Adityanath lost because he was not fully positioned either on community politics or governance politics.

Mar 15, 2018, 14:29 PM IST

Voters angry with BJP, showing it the door: Congress after bypoll results

The Congress on Wednesday said people across the country were "showing it the door", as was amply proved by the bypolls on Wednesday.

Mar 15, 2018, 00:26 AM IST

UP bypolls: Congress takes a dig at BS Yeddyurappa, asks him to 'stop bowing' before Yogi Adityanath

The BJP lost both Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats in UP.

Mar 15, 2018, 00:07 AM IST

After losses in UP bypolls, BJP now has 274 seats in Lok Sabha, 8 down from 282 in 2014

The saffron party on Wednesday lost bypolls to all three Lok Sabha seats it contested.

Mar 14, 2018, 23:05 PM IST

Uttar Pradesh bypolls: Congress candidates lose deposits in Gorakhpur, Phulpur; party keen to rebuild in state, says Rahul Gandhi

In a stunning blow to the BJP, the party on Wednesday lost bypolls to all three Lok Sabha seats it contested, including its bastion Gorakhpur and Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh, besides Araria in Bihar.

Mar 14, 2018, 22:32 PM IST

All you need to know: March 14, 2018

Mar 14, 2018, 20:47 PM IST

Uttar Pradesh, Bihar bypoll results: Massive jolt for Yogi Adityanath-led BJP in Gorakhpur, Phulpur; RJD retains Araria, Jehanabad, BJP wins Bhabua

The Samajwadi Party wrested the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh from the BJP on Wednesday.

Mar 14, 2018, 18:33 PM IST

Bypoll results in Bihar and UP prove voters miffed with BJP, says Rahul Gandhi

Samajwadi Party won Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypolls in Uttar Pradesh.

Mar 14, 2018, 16:58 PM IST

UP, Bihar bypolls: BJP loses all 3 Lok Sabha bypolls, fails to make gains in Bihar

The loss in the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency is likely to sting the most.

Mar 14, 2018, 15:15 PM IST

Uttar Pradesh, Bihar bypolls: BJP falls behind in Gorakhpur, Phulpur; set to make small gains in Bihar

After leading early in the game, BJP has slipped behind the SP in Adityanath's stronghold of Gorakhpur.

Mar 14, 2018, 10:36 AM IST

Gorakhpur, Phulpur, Araria, Bhabua, Jehanabad bypoll results on Wednesday; key test for BJP, JDU, opposition

The polls are being seen as a curtain raiser to the Lok Sabha polls scheduled for 2019.

Mar 13, 2018, 15:27 PM IST

UP Bypolls: 43% voter turnout recorded in Gorakhpur, 38% in Phulpur

Polling began at 7 AM and passed off peacefully at 5 PM, the state election office said.

Mar 11, 2018, 23:02 PM IST

Gorakhpur bypolls: BJP necessary for development and good governance, says Yogi Adityanath

Gorakhpur, where by-elections was necessitated after Adityanath’s elevation as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, is witnessing a triangular contest.

Mar 11, 2018, 07:44 AM IST

Gorakhpur bypoll: Adityanath cried on TV but didn't take responsibility for hospital deaths, says Akhilesh

The SP chief claimed that the BJP raked Hindu identity during the last Assembly elections.

Mar 08, 2018, 10:51 AM IST

Gorakhpur bypoll 2018: BJP confident but SP-BSP tie-up puts UP CM Yogi Adityanath on front foot

The Lok Sabha by-poll in Gorakhpur, considered a safe bet for Uttar Pradesh's ruling BJP with five-time MP and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath fronting the campaign, has acquired fresh urgency with the new-found bonhomie between the SP and the BSP.

Mar 08, 2018, 10:05 AM IST

UP bypolls: SP, BSP are like snake and mole coming together, says Yogi Adityanath

The BSP on Sunday announced support for SP candidates in the March 11 bypolls to Phulpur and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats.

Mar 05, 2018, 16:07 PM IST