News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Punjab elections 2017

Punjab Election Results 2017: As it happened

The opposition Congress was racing ahead in 76 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly, followed by the AAP in 22 seats, the SAD in 12 seats and the BJP in three seats, as the latest trends.

Catch LIVE coverage here for all Assembly elections

Mar 11, 2017, 20:12 PM IST

Punjab assembly polls results 2017: As it happened

Congress was heading towards forming the government in Punjab. With his party receiving a drubbing, Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal said he would be submitting his resignation to the Governor on Sunday.

Mar 11, 2017, 09:30 AM IST

Lambi Assembly Elections 2017: CM Parkash Singh Badal wins

Punjab Congress Chief Amarinder Singh is battling the Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal on his home turf as counting for selecting MLA of Lambi in the Punjab Assembly Polls 2017 began on Saturday. Here are the live updates:-

Mar 10, 2017, 17:44 PM IST

Punjab exit polls 2017: As it happened

As the voting has ended, various exit polls predicted about the winner and performances of various political parties in the high-decibel electoral battle of Punjab Assembly elections. Here are all the details:-

Mar 09, 2017, 16:47 PM IST

Punjab battle: AAP upbeat as Akalis, Congress keep up bold face

Parkash Singh Badal, 89, is the oldest serving Chief Minister in the country.

Mar 09, 2017, 16:25 PM IST

Assembly Elections Exit Poll Results 2017: As it happened

Exit poll results for the Assembly Elections in five states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa, and Manipur - have been announced.

Mar 09, 2017, 13:18 PM IST

AAP harbouring criminals, militants in Punjab: BJP

Punjab unit of BJP today slammed the Aam Aadmi Party for allegedly harbouring criminals and militants in the state in the wake of recent arrest of the mastermind behind the Nabha jailbreak.

Feb 15, 2017, 19:20 PM IST

Akhilesh Yadav most talked about candidate on Facebook

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav is followed by Navjot Singh Sidhu who recently joined the Congress party in Punjab.

Feb 15, 2017, 15:44 PM IST

Akali Dal sees 'conspiracy' against Sikh community

In its first meeting after the February 4 voting for assembly elections in the state, Punjab`s ruling Shiromani Akali Dal said certain "elements" were indulging in "a deep-rooted and dangerous conspiracy" to weaken the Sikh community in the state.

Feb 11, 2017, 22:11 PM IST

Punjab re-poll on Thursday; holiday declared in 5 districts

The vote count would take place on March 11.

Feb 08, 2017, 21:05 PM IST

Ensuring foolproof security of EVMs in Punjab, says EC

All security measures are put in place to guard EVMs in nine assembly constituencies here, the Election Commission said today, as it dismissed the AAP's allegations that standard procedure was neglected while guarding the strong rooms where the polling machines are kept.

Feb 08, 2017, 18:29 PM IST

Assembly elections: Repolling ordered in 48 stations in Punjab

The Election Commission on Tuesday ordered repolling at 48 polling stations of Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency and the five assembly segments, including a seat from which SAD leader Bikram Singh Majithia is contesting, following malfunctioning in VVPATs and EVMs during February 4 elections.

Feb 07, 2017, 23:58 PM IST

Punjab polls: Action recommended against three candidates for MCC violation

Returning Officer has written to the Election Commission recommending action against three poll candidates for allegedly violating the Model Code of Conduct here.

Feb 07, 2017, 16:22 PM IST

VVPAT snag: Repolling ordered at 48 polling stations on Feb 9

The Election Commission today ordered repolling in 48 polling stations falling in Majitha, Muktsar and Sangrur assembly segments in Punjab following malfunctioning in the Voter-Verified Audit Paper Trail (VVPAT) EVMs on February 4.

Feb 07, 2017, 14:28 PM IST

Punjab Elections 2017: More women vote than men

In the February 4 elections to 117 assembly seats, while 80,54,558 men voted, 73,26,384 women cast their votes.

Feb 06, 2017, 14:51 PM IST

Save Punjab from drug menace: BJP leader to Rajnath Singh

BJP leader and former minister in the ruling SAD-BJP government Laxmi Kanta Chawla today wrote a letter to Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, urging him to "save Punjab from the drug menace".

Feb 06, 2017, 10:06 AM IST

Assembly elections: Punjab at brisk 48 per cent till 2:30 pm, Goa touches 53 per cent in six hours

Punjab witnessed a voter turnout of 48 percent till 2: 30 pm, while Goa progressed at a steady pace by recording 53 per cent till 1 pm.

Feb 04, 2017, 16:39 PM IST

ISI sponsoring Kejriwal: Harsimrat Kaur

Union Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal on Saturday trained guns at the Aam Admi Party supremo and accused him of being hand in gloves with the terrorists.

Feb 04, 2017, 14:21 PM IST

Punjab, Goa to vote for assembly elections today; massive security arrangements in place

BJP is in government in Punjab in alliance with Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) for two successive terms, while it also helms Goa.

Feb 03, 2017, 22:19 PM IST

Punjab polls: Candidates at doorsteps to woo voters amid tight security

Nearly 1.99 crore voters will decide the fate of 1,145 candidates, including 81 women and a lone transgender candidate, in polls from 117 Assembly constituencies from 8 am onwards.

Feb 03, 2017, 16:47 PM IST